AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2002, 07:51 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Need help!

Ok- i have just had to reinstall xp after a voodoo 5 corrupted it- i have also added rounded clear cables and switched out a dying hardrive- now here's the problem: i have 2x hardrive- 30 and a 20 both ibm- when i connect the 20 and the 30 the burner does not detect and the modem will not work- but i can acces the data on it- when i disconnect the 20 everything works- i noticed that on the 20gig that one of the upperlevel pins had been "recessed" as in it was 1cm furhterback then the rest- also- my ga-7dx has had this problem before- should i buy a new mb or hardrive (80gig segate at frys for $80 7200rpm)(preferabliy both- but with no job i cant afford it right now :-()
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2002, 04:18 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

DO you have a spare HDD to test with ?

IT sounds like it could be either the board or HDD.

Does it work with the 20 installed and the 30 disconected ?

Can you fix the recessed pin ?
That sounds like it could be the cause.

Or try the HDD in another working board.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 07:33 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Ok..... i went to frys and bought an 80gig 7200 segate for $89 and i put it in as a secondary replacing the IBM 20GIG and it did the same damn thing!!!!!!! So- i swiched the cable and SAME THING! So i bought FireBalls87 old EPOX 8HKA+ so this should help!!!!!!!!!!!

Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 02:35 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

sounds like a Master/Slave prob to me.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 05:54 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Spyder462
Ok..... i went to frys and bought an 80gig 7200 segate for $89 and i put it in as a secondary replacing the IBM 20GIG and it did the same damn thing!!!!!!! So- i swiched the cable and SAME THING! So i bought FireBalls87 old EPOX 8HKA+ so this should help!!!!!!!!!!!

Spyder
dude, do they still have those on sale in OR? if they do i wouldn't mind getting one or two!
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 07:02 PM
Oc Jason's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Havelock, NC
Posts: 35
Send a message via ICQ to Oc Jason Send a message via AIM to Oc Jason Send a message via Yahoo to Oc Jason

there might not have been a reason to get that new stuff, i know you used that as an excuse for new parts but i believe it may have been a BIOS issue of just setting the correct Master/Slave settings.

I have a 60 gig HD, on IDE1 as Master, then a CDROM and CDR on IDE2 as Master adn Secondary, ad get no probs, i had same thing at first while conected my HD was not shown. Just make sure the HD is on IDE 1, might make a diff never know. It did for me
__________________
xp1900 @ 1.76ghz 9.5x195
256mb Mushkin pc3000 DRR 222
GeForce 2 Pro 250/465
WinXp
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2002, 02:35 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman


dude, do they still have those on sale in OR? if they do i wouldn't mind getting one or two!
$89 for segate 80 gig 7200 after reabte :-(
on sale until the 26th

Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 02:49 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

how big a rebate? I may have to ship ya some money.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 03:36 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Yarr, I paid that for each of two 40 Gb Barracuda IV's. Oh well, I'll keel over if I fill up a 40 Gb HDD.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 04:59 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

$125 normally :-D - im going to go and grab another myself :-D

Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 08:14 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

i may have to send some cash!
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 05:42 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Spyder462, did you find out the root of your IDE problem? Was it the mainboard?


How come we h'ain't got no Fry's stores in Seattle? Maybe the market is too crowded here?

But heyell, there ain't but one retailer wih prices that approach etailer's prices. One. I don't want to p/o Trancebear, so I won't post the retailer's name. AND, I don't know what Trancebear's price list looks like.

There is one etailer with excellent Web-like prices in Seattle that forbids walk-ins. But Bruddah, don't send them a dime! It is NOT Trancebear, btw.
__________________

Last edited by cloasters; 24th March, 2002 at 05:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 07:47 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Quote:
Originally posted by Spyder462
$125 normally :-D - im going to go and grab another myself :-D

Spyder
Srry- they are $140 originaly! :-D
Pm- Me if u want one !
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 07:49 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I never did find out the problem........ i retuned the 20gig- switched rounded cables and did a bios update and still no go- still my friend wants the board :-D he only have hardrive/ cdrom :-D

Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2002, 06:02 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

It appears that the mainboard is the culprit. But appearing and being are often not the same.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0