AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2006, 07:11 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Grrr....whats died?

Here's the setup

MSI NEO2 Platinum, AMD 3500+, 512MB RAM, 2x WD Caviar SATA drives in RAID0, 2 x Ide HDD, 1 x SATA HDD.

Powered up the other night and had a few issues getting into Windows. After a few attempts and a system restore the PC was stable again BUT all the other discs have vanished! Even in the BIOS, only the SATA discs are seen.

Any ideas?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2006, 11:09 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Are both IDE drives on the same IDE interface?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2006, 10:10 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Some more weiredness now, the RAID array is working again and the PC works ok. BUT, it does not see the 160GB SATA drive, just the 80GB Maxtor IDE drive and the DVD-RW.

I thought it was a problem with the disc so I took it out and connected it to another machine and it shows up and all my data is on there. Put it back in the MSI board and its not seen in the BIOS but it is recognised by the nVidia NVRAID program that shows it is as Secondary Master but as a Free Disc? See pic below. Any ideas?? Has nVRAID used it in the Stripe? The PC works without it connected too!.
Attached Thumbnails
Grrr....whats died?-nvraid.jpg  
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2006, 11:15 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

There should be an option in bios under 'integrated peripherals' to disable RAID on the SATA controller that the stand-alone drive is on - has this got changed or could it just be a cable mix-up ?

I'm wonder if you could have PSU issues with 5 drives all starting up at once (or attempting to) which would explain the weirdness.

Fortunately it ahsn't been included in the stripe - that would almost certainly obliterate any data on the drive.
__________________

Last edited by JimF; 29th October, 2006 at 11:17 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2006, 06:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2006
Posts: 1

Post How to be insured

I wantto insure allhas seen a site
who knows
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2006, 05:39 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Spamalert!

*Does the SPAM DANCE!!*

SPAM DANCE!!!!

It's like the Welcome Dance, except for spam.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2006, 01:19 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redroar
Spamalert!

*Does the SPAM DANCE!!*

SPAM DANCE!!!!

It's like the Welcome Dance, except for spam.
Does it ward off evil spammers?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2006, 06:44 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Does it ward off evil spammers?
It tries, it tries. But those evil spammers are just so tenacious!

Anyway, what was up with that post? No links, nothing of any spam value. Just random gibberish.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2006, 06:50 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

spamless spam I guess....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2006, 12:59 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

JimF, you got it. I checked the BIOS settings again and sure enought they were all set to SATA RAID. Disabled the two that are not used for RAID and the drive has been picked up again!

Thanks dude!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


« oops! | Stop Error »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got it installed, now please help me run it - GRRR error stigweed Benchmarking 11 17th June, 2004 10:14 PM
GRRR More lost WUs! stigweed ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 6th February, 2003 08:19 AM
Grrr@ my 8RDA+ ET pls help!! MiGGinZ EPoX MotherBoards 16 7th December, 2002 04:43 AM
just finished reformatting....grrr.... Betty ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 7th May, 2002 07:08 PM
Grrr..Servers. Here we go again! Jimbo ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 30th September, 2001 09:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0