AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2006, 03:07 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Reboot

Posting again cause i belive I post in the wrong thread.

Lately some of my games (Prey and FarCry so far) start ok and reboot after 5- 10 minutes of playing. I will just reboot and sometimes a blue screen. This is not happening with Halo thou (yes I know they are old games, I'm hook what can I said). Got "there are two or more errors" after chkdsk with recovery console. Actually running @ 2.53 (It was at 2.6 when it started). Psu is new and memory seem to be ok.

Any ideas? I'm dying here.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2006, 03:16 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Vidcard problem or PSU most likely, but can also be CPU and RAM. if anything is overclocked, put them at stock and give it a try. Also try another driver.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2006, 06:15 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Have ya got parts you can use to swap out? I'd start with the PSU if possible...test card next.... luck!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2006, 11:09 PM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

Try down clocking, start with ram then cpu then video card. Love those games aswell just started playing Halo again last week.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2006, 02:19 AM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Memtest for 8 hours, no problemo. Go back to default settings and.... voila. Everything is back to normal. The vc was not oc, cpu and ram was. This can be good,isn't it? Running @ 2.21.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2006, 03:23 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

still say it's the mem. mem gets a big load on it, and crashes. try windows memtest.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2006, 01:50 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

I use windows memtest.
Forgot to tell you that computersHQ email me, apologize (in nice way) for the delay and offering me a delivery upgrade to 2nd day air (it was USPS). They told me that the modules will arrive @ their warehouse on the 17 (today). I accept. Will see.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Reboot Gizmo Random Nonsense! 20 8th July, 2007 05:29 AM
Reboot Strongwolf GAMES! OH YEAH! 0 15th October, 2006 10:15 AM
Reboot problems with NF7 serlv AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 24th June, 2003 05:15 AM
reboot loop mrands2 EPoX MotherBoards 3 9th May, 2003 10:57 PM
Won't Reboot. Mr T EPoX MotherBoards 9 25th January, 2002 08:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0