AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2006, 04:58 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

oops!

well, I've nackered up a perfectly good floppy disk with some important
data on it. the data was created in Word for Works and I attempted to
open the file on my desktop with XP. after the message ' disk not formatted
do you want to format now?', I figured I was in trouble. I need this data
for an audit. any ideas how to get my data back?

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2006, 05:49 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

try using the disk on the original pc that you had saved it with. hopefully it's just something to do with the drives.
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2006, 02:53 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yep, I'd go with captaincurran's suggestion; I've seen many occasions where a floppy formatted on one machine wouldn't work on a different machine.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2006, 03:18 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

I tried that right away with no luck. the doc. was a .wps or Works Word
Processor file. Works was not installed on my desktop pc. when I put the
disk in, it tried to open the file. I thought it was being read when 'disk in
drive A not formatted' appeared. I removed the disk and placed it in the
laptop (with Works installed) only to get the same error message and no
access to the disk.
well, carp happens!

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2006, 04:05 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

can you run either scan disk or CHKDSK /R or it?
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2006, 09:10 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staz
can you run either scan disk or CHKDSK /R or it?
good idea. will try tonight. thanx.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2006, 11:48 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

The other thing which has worked in the past for me, is to boot a live linux distro, and copy the contents of the floppy to a USB pen, or you may be able to move it to another floppy.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2006, 01:02 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Yeah...find a hobby that you both enjoy and stop spamming the forum.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2006, 03:18 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman
well, carp happens!

Ron
It's true.

Let us know how it goes Ron!
Attached Thumbnails
oops!-dsc03564.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oops? Toro Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 14 24th March, 2006 02:51 PM
Oops!!! toaster Case Modifications 6 19th March, 2005 03:12 PM
Oops dod 64 Bit computing 79 5th May, 2004 09:22 AM
OOps. mookydooky EPoX MotherBoards 0 10th July, 2003 02:31 AM
Oops Spode Random Nonsense! 7 25th December, 2001 02:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0