AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2006, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Constant locking up when under load

Hi guys

My girlfriends PC keeps freezing up when she plays games (Sims 2 and EQ2). At first I thought it was due to her PSU not having enough juice.

The system is running Windows XP pro SP2 and that is it there is no antivirus or spyware stuff all the drivers are up to date.

Spec

Gigabyte SLI board
AMD64 X2 4800+
1gb Corsair RAM
2x XFX 7800GT SLI
Hiper 580W PSU

I have taken out one of the gfx cards thinking it was that but it made no difference, I am now thinking it could be a software proble. Any ideas would be good.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2006, 07:52 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I would check the temps and run a virus scan or summat
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2006, 10:51 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

What's the case like for airflow? Those cards can overheat easily with bad cooling.

Run it with the case panel off.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah

Last edited by danrok; 11th November, 2006 at 10:52 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2006, 01:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Case has 1x 120mm fan on the front and 1x80mm fan on the back there is no restriction from cables inside the case and CPU temps are around the 34c mark. The concern I have is that it is locking up with just the one gfx card in there as well as 2.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2006, 03:10 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Tried re-installing same or different version of video and chipset drivers?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2006, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

ooh good thinking havn't updated the chipset drivers. Are the Nforce4 drivers generic?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2006, 03:32 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I'd try the ones from nvidia's site.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2006, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

ok cheers will try that and see. I asumed it was power related as she only had a 400w budget psu, so now of course I am getting in the neck as she just forked out £60 for a new PSU.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2006, 02:08 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

So how did this turn out?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
p4mki locking up mabauto EPoX MotherBoards 2 6th May, 2005 09:34 AM
Locking AGP/PCI 8k3a+ ans136 EPoX MotherBoards 6 8th November, 2003 10:59 AM
Computer keeps locking up...help!! BlindFusion CRASHED! 4 10th September, 2003 04:28 PM
Un-locking 1600+ mASh_TiL_DeAD AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 28th September, 2002 06:32 PM
Games keep locking up, help ! Thundr7 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 9th July, 2002 05:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0