AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2006, 11:01 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

PC Crashing/restarting randomly

It doesn't happen often, but it happens often enough to annoy me.

My PC will just completely crash or restart. Usually happens whilst I'm asleep and folding, but happens whilst I'm at my PC, too, again, when I'm folding.

It won't happen straight away. Heck, sometimes it won't even happen at all. But it crashes/restarts about 8 hours into folding.

I'm attaching a print screen of my system temperatures. I know both my CPU and System sensors are wrong, and I'm ignoring that. The nForce temperatures, however, has been slowly increasing. It was at 52 degrees 2 weeks ago. Now it's 70something.

What is it exactly? Why is it overheating? And could it be contributing to my PC crashing?
Attached Thumbnails
PC Crashing/restarting randomly-11.jpg  
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.

Last edited by raphael2040; 19th November, 2006 at 11:03 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2006, 02:14 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Ooh, pritty desktop theme doodah...

Hmm, yeah I would say that your rising temperatures are causing your crashes, especially as they occur after 8 hours or so of folding - and folding taxes your processor.

I would tear everything apart, clean it, polish it, and re-goop it and put it back in, then see how long you can fold for, if it works for longer, then we have found the problem, if it doesnt work for longer / at all then I was never here.

What is the airflow in your case like? Also what are the specs of your components for further reference? tythxbai
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 12:11 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

AM2 4600+ @ 2.65Ghz, Foxconn something or another motherboard, 2GB Corsair XMS2 RAM and X1900XT graphics.

My airflow in the case is r0x. It's a P180, with a side panel open.

It's wierd, though, cuz folding only takes 50% of my processing power up anyway, so it's not as if my processor is being overworked or anything.
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 02:30 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Pretty hot temps, your CPU doesn't need to be fully occupied to say "gimme break. You won't? OK, how do you like this?"
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Those are hot temps, even the CPU. Is that using the stock HS assembly?
I would check the HS is seated properly. Actually take it off and put it back on again. Also check you didn't overdo it with the TIM.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 01:44 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Yeah.

Touch all your heatsinks when your PC is in operation. The ones that aren't warm to the touch will absolutely need a reseat. I wouldn't be surprised if your chipset cooler is not transferring the heat properly.

Run 2 instances of prime95, run one with core 1 and the other with the 2nd core. Keep a close eye on the temps and see how long it runs. Also test the memory with memtest86, test 4 and 5 at least several passes.
After doing this you can pretty much rule out the tested components if they don't fail their respective tests.

But because your machine is only unstable when it's been operational for quite a while it's likely the chipset building up heat.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 08:03 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

I already touched both my graphic and CPU heatsinks, and both are warm to the touch.

Are there any other heatsinks? =/
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 08:36 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

There's the chipset one
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM







Last edited by Favu; 20th November, 2006 at 08:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 08:57 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by raphael2040
I already touched both my graphic and CPU heatsinks, and both are warm to the touch.

Are there any other heatsinks? =/
There should be yes

Normally the northbridge is heatsinked as well. If they're not and you're overclocking I suggest to do it yourself. It won't do any harm for sure

http://www.epox.nl/images/products/m...mf4-j_full.jpg

In this pic you can see the northbridge heatsink with epox fan. You can't miss it.

Did you lower your HTT multiplier when going in higher frequencies?

http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...145&howtoID=58
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2006, 09:27 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by raphael2040
AM2 4600+ @ 2.65Ghz,....It's wierd, though, cuz folding only takes 50% of my processing power up anyway, so it's not as if my processor is being overworked or anything.
Actually, that's both right and wrong. You have a dual core, with one instance of folding. Folding is actually using 1 of your cores at 100% while the other core is idling. Drop your overclock 100mhz or so and see if the problem goes away. I suspect that at least one of the cores is not 100% stable.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2006, 07:01 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Quote:
Normally the northbridge is heatsinked as well. If they're not and you're overclocking I suggest to do it yourself. It won't do any harm for sure
Yeah, sorry, the northbridge is heatsinked. But I can only touch a limited amount of it, since my graphics card is a monstrosity.

But it's warm to the touch, yeah.

Perhaps I'll try a BIOS reset and knock everything back down to stock. Would that be the best idea?
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2006, 08:13 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Why not set everything back to stock and skip clearing the BIOS? Prolly better to avoid messing with Sir BIOS when you don't have to.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2006, 08:25 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Sometimes a good ole reset will do ya good.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restarting folding... The Spyder ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 25th January, 2007 12:14 AM
Persistantly Restarting Streethawk CRASHED! 32 11th September, 2006 09:10 PM
limewire keeps restarting captaincurran OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 22 11th February, 2006 04:45 PM
XPProSP2 keeps restarting installation.... jimbobaggies CRASHED! 19 24th June, 2005 09:57 AM
8RDA+ errors....Windows restarting?? ebritt66 EPoX MotherBoards 11 27th April, 2003 07:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0