AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 01:03 AM
trodas's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 131
Send a message via ICQ to trodas Send a message via AIM to trodas Send a message via MSN to trodas

Question How much voltage can not naked Opty 148 handle?

Looks like that the main problem for my overclocking was the HTT clock, after lovering it down from 4x to 3x it was possible go higher with FSB w/o much problems.

http://www.slibe.com/fullimage/f592e...z_opty_jpg.jpg
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=148241

The Opty of mine however need voltage bump to get there. I used 1.450 + 0.20V (1.650Vcore, as with old AXP) to get it Prime stable. However it looks like I not getting under 28,3sec for 1M SuperPi.

All the fun ended up when I accidentialy select Vcore bump to 0.60V. The Sapphire A9RX480 Grouper posted well, but instead of boot, there is just flashing prompt line, no C: before it, just the line. And it never booted again. Looks like 2V is able to kill Opteron 148 very easily...

My fault, tough.

Anyone got any experiences of near 2V Opteron using? Mine was not "naked", yet watercooled. It posted, tough...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway my config - my caps
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 01:48 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Eep. I wish it was more difficult to blow things up. Just one moment of not paying careful attention... I doubt that you'll overvolt a processor like that again. I hope!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 01:13 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I did not realize that it would kill one like that.

I thought maybe eventually fry it but instant death...WOW.

I hate killed hardware...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 09:06 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

try cpu in other board, or clear CMOS on current board. It may post. 2.0v is enough heat to trip thermal diode and cause no0boot or partial boot. i cannot see 2.0v killing cpu that quickly unless it was not sufficently cooled.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2006, 05:07 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

can't say I can help...never took my 148 above 1.60v though, and that was on water.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2006, 10:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2006
Posts: 4

Mmm don't be so afraid with the vcore guys...
I used to have my t-bred B 1700+ at 2.150v with a v12 cooling it. (really)

Years has pass and still there ,
__________________

Last edited by Artik2; 30th December, 2006 at 10:29 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2006, 10:33 PM
trodas's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 131
Send a message via ICQ to trodas Send a message via AIM to trodas Send a message via MSN to trodas

Red face

cloasters - I hope too for never doing such mistake again... Some Vcore options go simply way too high... (the board also can deliver 4.4V to DDR rams, so...)

Samuknow - it was not so instant, it posted... But that was it.

cadaveca - I tried that, including completely reflashing the bios on other mobo, but no luck. Maybe I just should give him more time? I get the CPU to cold (outside is like -6 at night, so...) and I try it again, if you think it could be live, but I dubt it - sadly.

Seperah - 1.60 is not much and mine was watercooled too. But not naked. Maybe if it was naked, it survived...

Artik2 - I'm not affraid, but the CPU is gone and it did 3Ghz, so, a bit of waste, eh? And temember that old AthlonXP are done with way different technology. Todays CPU's are done with much more sensitive technology... So that is why taking Vcore to 2V there require serious cooling (extremly good pelt powered chilled watercool or phase cool...) if the CPU has to last more that like seconds as in my case it was...
Believe that you fry your Opteron (especially the dual cores are even more sensitive) if you apply 2V to it
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway my config - my caps
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2006, 10:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2006
Posts: 4

I remember my old fellows telling: "I will not put mine beyond 1.8v" and then I came with mi 1700+ Shocking.

I never fry anything ('till now :P) so I guess I'm lucky.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2006, 01:43 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

1.6v??? yeah, thats pretty good for a 939 chip bud, were not talking about AXP's here.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2007, 08:49 PM
trodas's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 131
Send a message via ICQ to trodas Send a message via AIM to trodas Send a message via MSN to trodas

Red face

Exactly. I have no problemo with driving AXP at 2.20Vcore... But these new chips, whoa whoa, one has to handle them with much more care
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway my config - my caps
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2007, 09:07 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

AXP was 130nm, Opty 170's 90nm. as the circuit is much smaller, it can handles less, naturally. This shortcoming can be overcome in various ways...my E6600 is perfect example...1.575v on 65nm 24/7.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opty 175 Strongwolf AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 23rd December, 2006 05:46 AM
Opty 165 captinhector AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 16th December, 2006 05:33 AM
Opty Strongwolf AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 19th November, 2006 01:59 PM
Which board to get for my new Opty 165? Nate-X AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 28th April, 2006 12:31 PM
Oh my god they're naked!!! eobard Random Nonsense! 22 11th February, 2002 09:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0