AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2007, 04:46 AM
Member
Penguin Bashing Champion, Action Fish Champion, Cat Bowling Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: Blenheim, NZ
Posts: 52

7900gt glitching

Im having a few problems with my computer.
I go into a game and start playing. The game runs fine for about 5 minutes but then weird glitches start to happen. weird walls of see through white start flying around the screen, textures dissaper, there are hole in the ground and bright lights start to fly out of the cars. Sometimes the screen flashes as well.

do you guys know what is causing this as it really pisses me off when i want to do a 1 hour endurance race.

Thanks
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
MoBo: ASUS Striker Extreme
RAM: 2 x 1024mb Corsair Dominator PC8500C5D
GPU: MSI 8800GTX HD-OC 610/1000 768MB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Case: Thermaltake Shark Black Aluminium Case
HD: Hitachi 160GB 8MB Cache 7200rpm and a Western Digital WD2500KS 250GB 16MB Cache 7200rpm
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Speakers: Logitech Z-640
DVD Burner: LG GSA-4163BBK Dual Layer

Last edited by Minibull; 12th January, 2007 at 04:47 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2007, 05:18 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

I can name a few things...

Heat Issues, bad/corrupted drivers, perhaps some physical defect with the card or its cooling solution, did you forget to plug in the 6pin extra power cable to the back of the card if it needs one?
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2007, 06:10 AM
Member
Penguin Bashing Champion, Action Fish Champion, Cat Bowling Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: Blenheim, NZ
Posts: 52

i think it could be heat. i have had these cards since about march so i have never been through a summer with them. when playing games on a summer day, e.g. 30 C, the cards reach about 77C. This has only just started in the last few days, which have been quite hot. though, they could bee damaged.

Regarding the power connecter, im not a complete noob, of course its plugged in.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
MoBo: ASUS Striker Extreme
RAM: 2 x 1024mb Corsair Dominator PC8500C5D
GPU: MSI 8800GTX HD-OC 610/1000 768MB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Case: Thermaltake Shark Black Aluminium Case
HD: Hitachi 160GB 8MB Cache 7200rpm and a Western Digital WD2500KS 250GB 16MB Cache 7200rpm
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Speakers: Logitech Z-640
DVD Burner: LG GSA-4163BBK Dual Layer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2007, 08:58 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

77C under load is not so high.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2007, 09:33 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Its not that high for the core of a 7900GT...however the three 7900 cards that I have used run in the high 50s under load, If the core is running 10-20c higher than usual then the memory (which on most 7900gt's is not cooled by ramsinks) is probably that much higher as well.

I am thinking that you might have a hot-spot in your case under/between your graphics cards....try running with the case-side off and point a fan under the graphics card.

Other things to try.....1. Make sure you are earthed and put your finger on one of the ram chips (assuming they are not covered) if they too hot to touch for more than a few seconds then this is likely the problem.

2. Install the latest drivers for your card after uninstalling the old ones using Drivercleaner

3. Check your cards are running at stock speeds.

4. Make sure your chipset fan is not dusty/dead
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah

Last edited by MONKEYMAN; 12th January, 2007 at 09:37 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2007, 04:35 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Pretty nice check list there MonkeyMan!
Let's add:

Check the seating on your card. Have you tried to run you endurance test at stock speeds?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2007, 09:41 PM
Member
Penguin Bashing Champion, Action Fish Champion, Cat Bowling Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: Blenheim, NZ
Posts: 52

well, its a cold rainy day here so the room temperature should be around 18C. I just given my pc a clean out a few days ago so there cannot be much dust in the different heatsinks.

Ive only just started to encounter this behavior in the hot weather we have had so i dont think that it is the seating or drivers that are causing it. Im using 91.47.

i also dont think having the case side off will help as i have two gills about the size of the motherboard, cut into the side panel. look at a thermaltake shark and youll see. they are only coverd by large honeycomb.

I just want to find out if this is a thermal issue cause then, getting two zalman vf900 copper coolers might do the trick. the tests ive seen showed it bringing load temp down to 50C from the 70s

Ill try your ram test and see if underclocking will stop it. i havnt overclocked by the way.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
MoBo: ASUS Striker Extreme
RAM: 2 x 1024mb Corsair Dominator PC8500C5D
GPU: MSI 8800GTX HD-OC 610/1000 768MB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Case: Thermaltake Shark Black Aluminium Case
HD: Hitachi 160GB 8MB Cache 7200rpm and a Western Digital WD2500KS 250GB 16MB Cache 7200rpm
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Speakers: Logitech Z-640
DVD Burner: LG GSA-4163BBK Dual Layer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 04:02 AM
Member
Penguin Bashing Champion, Action Fish Champion, Cat Bowling Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: Blenheim, NZ
Posts: 52

i did the ram test and i couldnt keep my finger on one of the chips for more than 3 seconds. Ive also swapped the cards around and blew out their heatsinks again.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
MoBo: ASUS Striker Extreme
RAM: 2 x 1024mb Corsair Dominator PC8500C5D
GPU: MSI 8800GTX HD-OC 610/1000 768MB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Case: Thermaltake Shark Black Aluminium Case
HD: Hitachi 160GB 8MB Cache 7200rpm and a Western Digital WD2500KS 250GB 16MB Cache 7200rpm
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Speakers: Logitech Z-640
DVD Burner: LG GSA-4163BBK Dual Layer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 08:44 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Is this the system RAM or video RAM which is hot to the touch?

If it's the system RAM, what voltage are you using?

Also, check the filter on your front intake fan to make sure it isn't clogged up with dust.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 09:31 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

even if you have grilles on the side of the case, having the side off with a fan pointed in should eliminate any dead-sopts between the cards, if the video memory is that hot to the touch then I suspect that is the problem.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 10:37 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

Have you tried NVTemplogger ? - this should prove the GPU temperature issue one way or another.

Although the write up suggests the cards should handle over-temperature by reducing clock speeds I've found with the older cards that this condition seems to latch until I've performed a power down reset - is that ths situation here ?

It may be worth trying the cards one at a time.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 10:54 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
even if you have grilles on the side of the case, having the side off with a fan pointed in should eliminate any dead-sopts between the cards, if the video memory is that hot to the touch then I suspect that is the problem.
I was wondering about this.

Looking at pics of the case, I'm not so keen on the side grilles. I can imagine that they may hamper air flow through the case. The rear fan will simply suck air through the grille right next to it, rather than draw air from deeper inside the case. Allowing possible dead spots.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 01:01 PM
Member
Penguin Bashing Champion, Action Fish Champion, Cat Bowling Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: Blenheim, NZ
Posts: 52

dont worry about case flow as i have a 120mm fan on the front wich can go to about 4000rpm. even with the side off, there is a huge amount of air flowing over the mobo and surrounding components. i had a front filter but i took it off. it hampered air flow I was touching the vga ram by the way. i almost burn myself after 2 seconds. if the vga ram is too hot, could that explain the deformed texture and missing textures, cause the textures are stored in the vga ram arnt they?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
MoBo: ASUS Striker Extreme
RAM: 2 x 1024mb Corsair Dominator PC8500C5D
GPU: MSI 8800GTX HD-OC 610/1000 768MB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Case: Thermaltake Shark Black Aluminium Case
HD: Hitachi 160GB 8MB Cache 7200rpm and a Western Digital WD2500KS 250GB 16MB Cache 7200rpm
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Speakers: Logitech Z-640
DVD Burner: LG GSA-4163BBK Dual Layer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 01:56 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

In a word yes.

Until I got my Ram sinks installed I had all kinds of strange things happening.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2007, 11:28 PM
Member
Penguin Bashing Champion, Action Fish Champion, Cat Bowling Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: Blenheim, NZ
Posts: 52

So, vf900 CU LED, here i come.

Hope it works
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
MoBo: ASUS Striker Extreme
RAM: 2 x 1024mb Corsair Dominator PC8500C5D
GPU: MSI 8800GTX HD-OC 610/1000 768MB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Case: Thermaltake Shark Black Aluminium Case
HD: Hitachi 160GB 8MB Cache 7200rpm and a Western Digital WD2500KS 250GB 16MB Cache 7200rpm
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Speakers: Logitech Z-640
DVD Burner: LG GSA-4163BBK Dual Layer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2007, 02:09 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minibull
dont worry about case flow as i have a 120mm fan on the front wich can go to about 4000rpm. even with the side off, there is a huge amount of air flowing over the mobo and surrounding components.
If your ram is getting that hot then either you dont have enough airflow between the cards or they need RMAing
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2007, 04:25 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I think what Monkey Man is trying to get across is that cooling isn't always a straight forward affair. pockets of still air can form around components and raise their temps considerably above the case temp as a whole....I think...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2007, 05:46 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Cheers Daniel~, Was tired when I wrote that....does come across a bit grumpy...

Yeah, what I am saying is that if your video RAM is getting that hot and isnt faulty/overvolted then there has to be insufficient airflow around those chips as they are not designed to run that hot.

If there is a good amount of airflow directly over those chips then they should be fairly hot to the touch but not burning, running at stock speeds I can hold my finger on my video RAM chips for as long as I like and the grossly overclocked 7900GT in a PC I was sorting out for a friend is only hot to the point where it starts to get uncomfortable after 10 seconds or so.

To sum up there are only 3 reasons why your memory should be that hot....

1. Overvolting.
2. Not enought direct airflow over the ram chips.
3. Faulty card.

Having an SLI system means poor airflow between cards unless you use a custom method, the air cannot escape from between the cards however much air is blasting round the case.

Solultions would either be a custom mounted fan betwen the cards, leaving the side off the case(sometimes effective) or having a side panel mounted fan in line with the gap between the cards.

Also check your chipset temperatures as often the chipset is located between the two cards.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah

Last edited by MONKEYMAN; 15th January, 2007 at 05:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2007, 08:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Hi guys

I have been having the exact same problem, the thing is mine changed over night I did not change anything on my PC however for some reason the card started going from 55c under load right up to 75c and even rebooted my pc a few times in Need for Speed Carbon. I have blown out all dust and checked the fan, the only thing I can think of is that the fan is on its way out as I can hear something rattling the card isnt even a year old tho.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2007, 09:53 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

In time it will get worse, until eventually the card packs up completely. Death by slow cooking...
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some people wouldn't classify this as a problem, I am (7900GT overclock question) XeroHouR Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 22 26th February, 2007 02:20 PM
7900GT bios volt mod spectator187 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 23rd January, 2007 01:11 PM
After market cooling 7900GT XeroHouR Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 11 8th November, 2006 10:27 PM
7900GT Making odd sounds.. Nate-X Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 3rd June, 2006 04:36 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0