AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2007, 04:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 8

9NPA3SLI won't start unless 12V booster is disconnected!

it just acts as if its shorted when the 12V connector is installed...
when it isn't installed, the power LED doesn't light up, the HDD one does, and I get an FF P80P code.

at this point, I don't know what standard behavior for a non 12v boosted 9NPA3SLI does, so I can't tell if its a fried mobo or fried PSU.

thanks.


edit:
other notes:

computer HAD been on, when I went and did something else, came back and it was turned off.

PSU is an Antec trueblue 480w
proc is X2 3800+@2.3ghz
video card is a single 7600GT (the other card caught on fire, but thats another story for another day....)
__________________

Last edited by drexelstudent11; 21st January, 2007 at 04:35 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2007, 01:24 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

first I would reseat all cables.
Then I would strip system down to PSU, proc and board only, and see if we had any POST activity (beep codes and the like), put in memory, if still looking on build it up slowly (Adding one component at a time) until it falls over. Chances are the the last component you added is pulling the system down for some reason.
Other option would be to see if you have a swap for the PSU (one that you know works and works correctly).
Also do a careful visual inspection of everything in the case for any signs of damage, bulging, leaking, scorch marks, cracks etc.
I might also look to try some of the components from this machine in other, such as HD, optical drive etc.

EDIT: I would also reset the CMOS/BIOS, just it incase
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah



Last edited by Toro; 21st January, 2007 at 01:26 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2007, 11:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 8

swapped out PSUs, same behaviour.

I'm guessing its the mobo at this point.

anyone got a link to EPoX' RMA form?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2007, 07:14 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Little help here, please. In the meantime, have a gander at the Epox topic heading.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2007, 10:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 8

its being RMA'd right now.
going to ship it out tomorrow
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2007, 10:40 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Hey, it happens. Good luck with the replacment!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2007, 02:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 8

ok, got the replacement today.

got it in the chassis, got everything connected, hit the power..

yes! it works!

but I lost my windows installation when it originally died...

so I'm fumbling around looking for my install disk, and I go to restart it..

and nothing.

no screen.


look at the P80P and its showing an F0

hit reset, shows F1 then F0 in quick succession and nothing happens after that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2007, 04:13 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

Quote:
Originally Posted by drexelstudent11


look at the P80P and its showing an F0

hit reset, shows F1 then F0 in quick succession and nothing happens after that.
same board as before?
is this F0 and F1 showing on the POST error LED readout thingy on the board? If so, I can't find those codes for the EP-9NPA3 SLI board. Closest I could find were 1F and 0F

1F is initialise keyboard matrix (on notebook platform)
0F is reserved

As you have just installed a new board, I would recommend ensuring that everything is properly seated, and that there are no bent or broken pins.

And as ever, swap things out for known good bits if at all possible (swapping one thing at a time )
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ & OCZ DDR Booster geekbyte EPoX MotherBoards 6 8th October, 2004 02:42 PM
OCZ DDR Booster danrok General Hardware Discussion 3 26th August, 2004 11:19 PM
OCZ DDR booster & the 8kda3j/+ dreIU EPoX MotherBoards 5 24th August, 2004 03:05 PM
memory booster? brian770 General Hardware Discussion 3 21st August, 2004 04:47 AM
Disconnected! Please help! Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 2 11th October, 2003 10:19 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0