AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2007, 04:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 9

Crash Help!!!!!!

My computer was running fine one minute off of XP and stop working the next. It want go past verfying dmi pool when rebooting. It says disk boot error, insert system disk and press enter. Only thing is I don't have a system disk. I do have quick boot disk. My computer was rebuilt and the person that built it stays in another state now so I don't know what to do. Please help someone.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2007, 11:13 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Sounds like either your Hard drive has failed or you IDE controller is dead.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2007, 12:30 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

You also might want to follow MM guide to checking all the cables and such.

My wifes machine started doing this and it was the 4 pin molex loose from the hard drive...


Before posting try this first!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 22nd January, 2007 at 12:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2007, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 9

Monkeyman is there anything I can do to get the hard drive up and running again? Or do I have to buy another?

Samuknow I tried all the cables they were tightly in place.

Thank the both of you.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2007, 04:04 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Do you have the XP cd at all?

You can try a repair or fixboot.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2007, 06:31 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: Music City
Posts: 38

Shawty,

Does your Harddrive show up in the BIOS??
You said you checked the cables, did you check both ends (i.e. at the harddrive and at the motherboard). You might try another 4-pin molex on the harddrive. I've got a new Western Digital that the power connector keeps giving me problems. I will get the same "disk boot error" when the plug doesn't connect properly.

It sounds like your harddrive may have gone bad. If you know what brand it is, you can download a diagnostic tool onto a floppy, boot from that floppy and test the drive.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2007, 07:43 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

Just to check.. you dont have any other media in any of the other drives either? might be trying to boot off a non bootable disk
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2007, 04:27 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

You need a Bootable CD/DVD to explore further ! It may be that your equipment is fine but you've been hit by a serious virus ! Get a friend or specialist to help you

PS Whatever you do don't listen to Toro
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 23rd January, 2007 at 04:28 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2007, 10:27 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Hey,

Toro is my inspiration, my motivation, the thorn in my side.....I mean...LOL
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2007, 04:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 9

No I do not have the XP CD.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2007, 04:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachB22
Shawty,

Does your Harddrive show up in the BIOS??
You said you checked the cables, did you check both ends (i.e. at the harddrive and at the motherboard). You might try another 4-pin molex on the harddrive. I've got a new Western Digital that the power connector keeps giving me problems. I will get the same "disk boot error" when the plug doesn't connect properly.

It sounds like your harddrive may have gone bad. If you know what brand it is, you can download a diagnostic tool onto a floppy, boot from that floppy and test the drive.
Yes it does show up on BIOS. Yes I checked both ends. I will try the diagnostic tool and get back with you.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2007, 04:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toro
Just to check.. you dont have any other media in any of the other drives either? might be trying to boot off a non bootable disk
I don't have anything in the other drives.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2007, 04:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Do you have the XP cd at all?

You can try a repair or fixboot.

All I have is a quick boot disk. Do I have to have the XP CD to repair or fixboot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2007, 04:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
You need a Bootable CD/DVD to explore further ! It may be that your equipment is fine but you've been hit by a serious virus ! Get a friend or specialist to help you

PS Whatever you do don't listen to Toro
Don't have any friends here just moved here and the specialist here charge 2 arms and 2 legs because there is only like 2 here. It is a very small town. That is why I am trying to get it done myself. Do you know how to create a Bootable CD/DVD?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2007, 07:19 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Could you post full system specs, especially PSU brand and model (or let us know if its unbranded) and power rating.

First I would check your HDD by using the HDD tool from your manufacturer, and swapping over to another SATA/IDE cable that you know works fully.

Without those results there is nothing much more that can be helped.
It could be a bad HDD, bad sectors, corrupt windows files, poor power, broken cable wire, etc.

The only thing the quick boot disc is going to do is allow you to reinstall XP - which is ok if you have all your data backed up. It most likely does an install from a hidden partition on your HDD, which could mean you are up for a new OS as well as a HDD if the HDD has gone south.

You could try linux on another HDD - or even dsl (damm small linux) from a usb pen drive. install the required packages to read your HDD, and backup the data from that to CD's / DVD's - before reinstalling, if you need to backup anything. Bar that, you are looking at a recovery specialist, which costs alot! BUT if the HDD has failed, you most likely wont get anything from the HDD, unless you pay alot to get the platters pulled, and read, professionally.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H

Last edited by noob; 25th January, 2007 at 07:23 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2007, 08:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob
Could you post full system specs, especially PSU brand and model (or let us know if its unbranded) and power rating.

First I would check your HDD by using the HDD tool from your manufacturer, and swapping over to another SATA/IDE cable that you know works fully.

Without those results there is nothing much more that can be helped.
It could be a bad HDD, bad sectors, corrupt windows files, poor power, broken cable wire, etc.

The only thing the quick boot disc is going to do is allow you to reinstall XP - which is ok if you have all your data backed up. It most likely does an install from a hidden partition on your HDD, which could mean you are up for a new OS as well as a HDD if the HDD has gone south.

You could try linux on another HDD - or even dsl (damm small linux) from a usb pen drive. install the required packages to read your HDD, and backup the data from that to CD's / DVD's - before reinstalling, if you need to backup anything. Bar that, you are looking at a recovery specialist, which costs alot! BUT if the HDD has failed, you most likely wont get anything from the HDD, unless you pay alot to get the platters pulled, and read, professionally.
Someone told me that it was the hard drive and someone else told me that it was the XP OS. Now when I insert the boot disk it doesn't do anything at all. When I hook the HD up to another computer and checked it with the properties part, it said that they hard drive was working fine but I could log into it on the other computer either it said something about media.

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2007, 09:23 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Pleas list your entire system spec ...

This will help troubleshooting your problem...

Did you try booting from the XP boot disk?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 12:00 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

You have not put in a new drive or anything currect is so (if no one mentioned this) check the jumpers on the drives. I had mine do this before and it was a jumper though the drive did show up in bios.
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097

Last edited by Necorum; 28th January, 2007 at 12:01 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 06:02 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawty411
Someone told me that it was the hard drive and someone else told me that it was the XP OS. Now when I insert the boot disk it doesn't do anything at all. When I hook the HD up to another computer and checked it with the properties part, it said that they hard drive was working fine but I could log into it on the other computer either it said something about media.

Thanks
So the HDD is fine in the HDD manufacturer test?

It comes up with the non system disk error when you try and boot from it?

If this is correct I would say your OS needs a repair.

Quote:
This will remove any updates you have done after installing
eg if you have on CD windows xp pro with SP1 and you have downloaded SP2 then when you have repaired your windows will have SP1 not SP2

To repair Windows (XP only) you do the following:

1. Put the Windows CD into your CD drive - ignore anything that comes up
2. Reboot your computer - In BIOS booting from CD will have to be enabled
3. When asked to 'Press any key to boot from CD' press a key it doesn't matter which one

4. In the Windows setup screen you want to do the following:
1. Press 'ENTER' to install
2. Press 'F8' to agree
3. Press 'R' for repair

- pressing 'R' in the first screen will enable a recovery console, this allows you to repair using DOS commands, it is good if you know how to use it and only need to copy a few files from the Windows CD to your HDD
Now this may not work with your disc. You may need to reinstall the whole lot. Which will mean losing all data on the disc.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2007, 02:09 PM
Refusenik's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 18

Heys Guy's

I had many funky things going on with my computer, and tried the repair routine, and other things, but had no luck. Housecall gave me a clean bill of health, but I still think it was a virus. I finally bit the bullet and did a complete install. I lost quite a bit of info that will take me much time to recover. The lesson that I finally learned is BACK UP ALL OF YOUR DATA. I have stupidly been through this twice now, and have learned my lesson. I back up to CD's regularly.
If anyone needs and XP Pro disc, Tiger Direct has them for 135.00. If anybody has found a lower price I would like to know, as I need another one. Thanks!
__________________
refusenik hacking babylon
Intel 531/3.0GHz/Asus P5GPL-X Mobo
1GHz Kingston DDR DIMM
WD Caviar SATA-150/120GB
Plextor PX-716SA DVD
XFX 6600 256MB
Thermaltake Swing Case
CoolerMaster Hyper 48
Thermaltake TR2-550W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rather Serious Crash, HDD not there. red ghost CRASHED! 3 3rd March, 2006 03:37 PM
HELP! HDD Crash! unclemojo CRASHED! 10 25th August, 2005 04:41 AM
big crash JBX CRASHED! 12 15th November, 2003 01:01 AM
HELP!!!! HDD crash SteveI CRASHED! 19 9th August, 2002 05:44 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0