AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Not posting

Seem to be the killer of PC's this week

Installed a sound card on my girl friends pc all worked fine booted into xp and downloaded the latest drivers for it. Then rebooted the machine and the sound worked fine. However half way through Everquest 2 she got a high pich squeech and the pc locked up. We thought it was a sound card drivers error so rebooted and choose a older driver, everquest 2 then locked up again (seems quite unstable on her machine any way so this was not a suprise) however when we rebooted it doesnt post to screen........

Her system specs are

Gigabyte SLI
AMD X2 4800+
2gb GeIL RAM
2x 7800 GT's
Sound Blaster Audicy 2
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 01:37 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Did you remove the card completely ands see if it still happens?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 02:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

yeah I have and it still dosnt post, could it be a bios error and need me to clear cmos?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 03:25 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

It would not hurt. I am thinking the driver damaged the os. I had this happen when installing the driver for the nVidia NIC on an NF3 board. Had to repair the OS to get rid of the driver. Did you try last know good config?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

I am not getting anything on screen at all I cant even get into bios
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 03:50 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Try a full cmos reset. Pull the battery and move the jumper. Leave it out for quite a while. Make sure the PSU is unplugged.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 04:25 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Graphics card possibly, a failure with high pitched squeal is often related to the graphics card this is especially possible as you cannot progress to the BIOS.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 05:08 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

You are absolutely right. I just killed my 6800 ( again ) and that is how it went out...If I plug in in now it make a nice high pitched squeal.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2007, 05:25 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

I've had graphic card crashes that would also keep my system from posting afterwards. Cutting power, and reseating the card has always worked.
This happens to me quite often. My 6800 attracts dust like a magnet and when I'm in a bit of a lazy mood and postpone cleaning out the cooler it happens due to overheating.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2007, 08:08 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I had a squealing feedback type of problem with FarCry when I origionally installed it. After doing some searching I found other people had the same problem. Someone suggested going to the sounds and audio devices and turning down the Audio acceleration. I moved the slider down one notch and the problem was gone. Its very strange because I never had that problem with any other game, just FarCry.
I didn't have locking up problems though. But if you get it to load windows again, try messing with the audio acceleration.
I have a Soundblaster Live 5.1
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2007, 11:03 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

What's the PSU in her machine? EQ2 is incredibly hard on hardware and generally causes hardware to throw out plenty of heat. If you have a spare GFX card, try that in the machine instead of the 7800s. I'm presuming there's no port 80 display on the motherboard?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Before posting try this first! MONKEYMAN CRASHED! 27 18th October, 2010 10:33 PM
posting Phiber Random Nonsense! 8 29th May, 2007 06:00 AM
HDD not posting on P5W DH, Please Help! brent1a Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 27th January, 2007 05:55 AM
Well...I'm posting this from... Logan OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 9 21st April, 2005 09:16 AM
Help! 8RDA+ is not posting. DemonicAardvark EPoX MotherBoards 1 13th March, 2003 10:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0