AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 06:43 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Question New Case Not Working :(

My friend asked me to install his computer parts in this new case he bought. Everything went well except for the front lcd which is working for about 2 seconds then it's turning off. Here are some pics of the conections I made. First I conected the LCD power cord to a regular molex (pic1). Then another molex (pic2) to the side fan. Pls tell me if I did something wrong.

Tx Chris
Attached Thumbnails
New Case Not Working :(-dsc02091.jpg   New Case Not Working :(-dsc02090.jpg   New Case Not Working :(-dsc02089.jpg   New Case Not Working :(-dsc02088.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 07:13 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Errmmm, I'm guessing you didn't, for example, do it while it was turned on?

Did the PSU come with the case? It could be that the PSU is dodgy, or does the PC work fine?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 07:18 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

are they the only connectors available for this?
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 07:21 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Unhappy

I think I know what is wrong, I have open the inside of the lcd and a simple thumb on the LCD chip and everything is fine. So I think it's broken

You guys know Zoli is his computer and he'll take back the case tommorow. Here is the pic with the chip. The strange thing is that somehow the hdd is having to do with this. Whenever I have hdd activity the lcd goes almost perfect. when not it dies :
Attached Thumbnails
New Case Not Working :(-dsc02092.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 26th February, 2007 at 07:29 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 07:23 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

That must be annoying!! Maybe you can return the case? Or sellotape something to it to hold it in place?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 07:42 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

I luuuv it. Extra crap that doesn't work right, aarrgh!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 07:42 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

turns out pressing isnt what he meant... just touching it fixes it, which is damn weird... I think Zoli should just pay chris to touch it


oh my god, that sounds wrong lol
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 07:48 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Red face

OMG ROFL LMAO TORO Well it's working now, the cable with the molex I attach to power the lcd had an extra molex to power an aditional device and unless it's used to power one hdd the lcd was not working. In the case manual doesn't say a thing about it !!! (((
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 26th February, 2007 at 08:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 11:38 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
OMG ROFL LMAO TORO Well it's working now, the cable with the molex I attach to power the lcd had an extra molex to power an aditional device and unless it's used to power one hdd the lcd was not working. In the case manual doesn't say a thing about it !!! (((
That doesn't sound too good.
Maybe you should watch out with other components shared with the LCD. I can't see it do any good when shared with any device. I'd say test the system for stability to be sure
Giving it a dedicated line might not be a bad idea.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2007, 10:08 AM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

What case is it Chris?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2007, 01:17 AM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Nice thumbs Christ
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2007, 08:53 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strongwolf
Nice thumbs Christ
Thanks man, my thoughts and prayers goes 2 U
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2007, 02:13 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Chris, that's a very insolent kangaroo. Send him to the White House, I hear that The George appreciates good company! No, I don't blame the preznit for everything.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2007, 09:06 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Chris, that's a very insolent kangaroo. Send him to the White House, I hear that The George appreciates good company! No, I don't blame the preznit for everything.
Can't do that. It is already at the whitehouse, is the simbol of what he thinks about life...not his life... !!!!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mod Squad Project 1: How to convert an ATX case into a BTX case. raphael2040 The Chop Shop 22 11th December, 2007 07:07 PM
Case Logic Ultimate Protection Deluxe Laptop Case $69.99 - $50.00 rebate = $19.99 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 19th December, 2004 04:39 PM
New Case Not Working!!!!!!!! captkirk CRASHED! 12 6th September, 2003 04:02 AM
Brand new Case Gallery! Submit your cool case pics ExclusivePC Case Modifications 0 18th February, 2002 08:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0