AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Motherboard

Won't post. It gets to the Asus splash screen, and gets stuck. Tried resetting CMOS several times including battery, also tried unplugging devices, etc etc, to no avail.

Looks like my mobo just tripped out on me.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 02:23 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

What happened right before this started. Moved machine, install driver, anything?

Did you try single stick of ram? Different slots?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Yes - tried the ram. Also tried the hard drives.
I was half way through installing my new Pci wireless card. I had got to the stage where you need to switch off, put the card in, switch on.
I have tried removing all non-essential slot devices.

Actually, I did get past that stage. I had put the wireless card in, and booted into windows. But the installation software said it hadnt detected the card and I still needed to put it in. After this, it stopped booting.
I really have tried almost everything and for me this is a motherboard issue.....in fact after Googling it seems this is an issue the P5B suffers from. I have just RMA'd it.

I cannot tell you how upset I am guys.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 02:59 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Can you get it to boot to a OS cd? You may have frapped your OS...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

That would be impossible though as it doesn't POST in the first place.
I literally get the very first splash screen, where it says press Tab to view POST press DEL to enter setup etc, and thats it.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 04:59 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I thought it was getting further than that. Sounds like a hosed board. That stinks. I killed a board with a sound card before. Not sure if the card was defective or if I did something wrong.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

It does stink. My 2 month old Samsung camera broke yesterday too.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 05:51 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

going well for you then old boy?
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Not really. Sucks to be me.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2007, 07:48 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Ouch! Damn! Ouch!

In a single year, at one point or another, it's going to suck to be anyone. Great for you that you got yours over with for the year! I'm still wondering when it will be safe to go outside!

Well RMA means it's down to lost time or experience gained, we get to take our pick as to which.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2007, 07:22 AM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

I actually just had this happen to me w/my new a8n32 sli delux, bad bios, killed my 7600 also. I am shiping everything back, but am still folding on old mobo with a sis xaber 200 64mb edition for a vid card(The only thing I like about this board, agp/pci-ex what ever you want).

Oh yeah, not having a decent gfx card SUCKS!!!!!

Hehe the specs on this card are soo weak, ddr1 333 as well as a whopping 143 mhz core clock!!
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2007, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

This item was tested for the fault reported and the fault could not be duplicated. It will be returned to the customer with no further action.

Regards,
Ebuyer Customer Support
http://www.ebuyer.co.uk


Ok - help please!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2007, 04:24 PM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

OK, try putting nothing but a processor in the board and see if it will give you a error code. Then just start sticking things back in untill it doesn't post anymore. You then have your problem part, post back then.
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com

Last edited by captinhector; 12th March, 2007 at 04:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2007, 05:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I'm suspecting if its not the board, it must be the processor or memory.
The problem occurs before boot devices are intialised so I think I'm right in ruling out hard drives.
It may be the memory because the problem occurs during the POST and this is when memory is used first. AFAIK.
So I will try swapping around the sticks. I would email ebuyer but their bally website has gone down.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2007, 01:18 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
I'm suspecting if its not the board, it must be the processor or memory.
The problem occurs before boot devices are intialised so I think I'm right in ruling out hard drives.
It may be the memory because the problem occurs during the POST and this is when memory is used first. AFAIK.
So I will try swapping around the sticks. I would email ebuyer but their bally website has gone down.
Memory is a good possibility. PSU is too, make sure you check that one if the memory is good. At this point, try with one stick at a time in every slot if needed. If that doesn't help, try booting up without memory or without graphics card. Your board should respond to not having those required components. Either with beeptones or some shoddy voice thing.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2007, 11:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Well....
I've got my motherboard back. And guess what? It's all working - happy as larry. But I'm mighty suspicious of eBuyer. This doesn't look like my motherboard.
My one had a slight scratch on the chipset heatsink.

This one doesn't.

With my one, the HDD LED didn't work. I haven't plugged it in differently, yet on this one it does.

With my one, my Wireless PCI adapter wasn't detected.

With this one it is.

Not only that but it came in suspiciously new packaging with the labels intact. I'm suspicious.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2007, 12:12 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Or they lost the motherboard, and decided that they'd ship you a new one.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2007, 02:10 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

So are you thinking it may have been replaced. Those thieves. Who do they think they are giving you a new board. Quite devious.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2007, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Heh. I like it. But why not just tell me. Lol.

PC is working fine. Albeit no overclock. After my problems, I'm backing off for now. I don't want to push my system or my luck or my wallet.

It's nice to have my dual screens working again.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2007, 03:17 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Glad that sorted it out. I hate faulty boards. They can really irritate you to death trying to figure out what the issue is.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which motherboard? Exile69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 3rd January, 2007 08:57 PM
Need help looking for motherboard Jake6 EPoX MotherBoards 1 5th April, 2006 11:44 PM
Motherboard for $10 (TEN!!) Allan Online Deals, and Steals 0 25th February, 2004 06:22 PM
Best motherboard out there The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 13th January, 2004 05:34 PM
Ram or Motherboard graftonater AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 17th April, 2003 05:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0