AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2007, 03:25 PM
mz_ mz_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 39

WinXP SP2 - BSD - Help?

Alright, system information is in my sig.

I was running BIOS 1901, overclocked at 3.3GHz. Started to get all kinds of program errors; Firefox, Winamp, Newsleecher.

Decided to reboot, and kept gettting BSD's that said the following;

STOP: 0x0000007E (0xC0000005, 0xF74FAA62, 0xBAFFFBD4, 0xBAFFF8D0)

or, the above, with this added;

wmxlcore.sys F757AA62 base at F7577000 datestamp 425c8225

Right before I rebooted, windows popped up saying "Corrupt c:\windows\prefetch".

After rebooting a few times, and getting those BSD's, I tried Safe Mode and Last Know Good Config, I'd get as far as the Windows Logo and then BSD again. Tried another reboot, and no POST, no beeps, no video. Cleared CMOS via the jumper, and was able to get back in using the Defauly BIOS setups, and upgraded BIOS to 2001 from 1901.

So here I am now, on 2001 and Default BIOS. Was this an issue with the overclock? System has been between 40-45C with spikes to about 55C depending on what I'm doing. Not sure why all the program errors and BSD's. Could Windows be corrupt? Thanks for any help guys.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH Deluxe (2801 BIOS)
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
G.SKILL RAM (Black) 2 x 1GB
Sapphire Radeon X1950PRO 256MB HDCP
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 x 2
ESP 700W PSU
Thermaltake Armour Case
DELL 2407WFP A04
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2007, 06:15 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I'd be inclined to suspect an unstable overclock. However, you may have corrupted windows with all the BSODs before you reverted back to default settings.

Will the system boot to windows now that you have gone back to default settings?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2007, 06:21 PM
mz_ mz_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 39

Yeah, I've been using it since I've posted that message. I had to reinstall WinRAR and Winamp to get them to work again.

Still using default settings with 2001 BIOS. Temps now are at 28-31C. This is all on Air Cooling. 2x120mm Front Intakes, 1x90 & 1x120mm Rear Exhaust and 1x90mm Top Exhaust. CPU Fan is a Zalman 9700.

I'll have to try and reboot again at some point and see if I get another BSD.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH Deluxe (2801 BIOS)
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
G.SKILL RAM (Black) 2 x 1GB
Sapphire Radeon X1950PRO 256MB HDCP
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 x 2
ESP 700W PSU
Thermaltake Armour Case
DELL 2407WFP A04
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2007, 06:35 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

What did you use to test the stability of your overclock?

Most overclockers have a set of applications they use to abuse their systems to see if they are stable, because there is 'Benchmark stable' and then there is 'Usably stable'.

I generally use a combination of Prime95, SuperPI, and CPUBurn for CPU overclocks, and Memtest86 for RAM/FSB overclocks. I never run CPUBurn for less than 20 minutes, usually for more like an hour.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2007, 08:20 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

this page http://www.aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php has some good information on it,and can give you a few pointers on where to start looking. I would look at checking disk integrity as it is warning of corrupt files. Also maybe do some RAM tests as well
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2007, 03:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Posts: 151

hd's corrupt. boot to Windows cd; choose Install Windows on existing partition; select Repair option (not Repair Console option) that shows up on following screens.

You'll likely have to reinstall all your best drivers after you get back to Windows, but it should only take about 15 minutes to get back to there, max.

cool?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2007, 12:14 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

As pointed out, an unstable overclock can lead to hard disk corruption. Why? Well, when the CPU/RAM is returning data that isn't quite right, and that data is located in Window's hard disk cache, it can get written out to the hard disk.

Thus, after a number of overclocking related BSODs, a Windows installation is suspect anyhow.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2007, 12:24 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Another good test for a stable OC is to load up FAH. It will max you CPU(s) 100% and serve the cause as well.

But to agree, sounds like unstable OC and a corrupt drive.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2007, 01:05 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Another good test for a stable OC is to load up FAH. It will max you CPU(s) 100% and serve the cause as well.
Personally, I'd not use FAH as a test for a stable OC. That's mainly because FAH is relying in accurate calculations and a marginally stable OC could cause inaccurate answers to be sent back to FAH.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2007, 01:39 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I guess that is true. I do know that my OC that I thought was stable for many months bit the dust when I started Folding again. It absolutely pushes the temps and cpu to the limits.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
winxp not xp64 sasrob 64 Bit computing 5 7th March, 2005 10:06 PM
WinXP on 64 bit? Phat Pat 64 Bit computing 1 5th December, 2004 12:48 PM
WinXP FAQ mookydooky OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 28 22nd June, 2003 01:32 PM
WinXP FAQ mookydooky AOA FAQ 15 22nd June, 2003 11:16 AM
vCore and WinXP David Shh! EPoX MotherBoards 13 14th January, 2003 10:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0