AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 07:59 PM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

RAM issues - PC Lagg

Hi guys,

To put things short, my PC lags.

It lags when I play games, when I play music, and when I watch movies.

I initially thought it was a virus, and then thought it could be due to my overclock. I ran a virus scan and brought my speeds back down to stock, but I am still having these issues.

I have browsed around online and have found that several other people with the same motherboard and RAM timings as me are experiencing similar problems, one being slow POST, which is another problem I am having. Other people online have said that it is due to my RAM ratio being 4:5. I haven't messed about with the ratio's at all, and I'm not sure on how to change them, etc. Could this be my problem?

My PC spec is as follows;

ASUS P5W-DH Deluxe with BIOS update [0901]
G.Skill PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM [2 x 512MB] 5-5-5-15
Intel Core2Duo E6300 @ Stock. [1.86Ghz]

Thanks in advance,

Kai2040





[PS: Yes, I am Raphael's brother ]
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 08:13 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Hi Kai. When you say it lags, do you mean it pauses for a time after you click on a task? Even at stock you should have no problem running games or just about anything else.

The first thing I's suggest is that you update your BIOS to the 2001 BIOS Release. I'm having very good results with it on my e6600 ( now running stable at 3752).

You have a very good board. I'm sure we can speed things up for you considerably. But I'd like to get you on a BIOS I know to be good.":O}

You can get the 2001 P5W DH Delux Here
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 22nd March, 2007 at 08:14 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 08:45 PM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

Thanks for the quick reply,

Well, regarding the lag issues. The sound and video stutters, when my ram usage is about 50%. When I close a few applications or restart, my ram would be on 30% and no video or sound lag occurs. So I am sure it is a problem with my RAM ratio being at 4:5. My current frequency is 300mhz, and I read that when you put the ratio to 1:1, the frequency doubles, thus my RAM would be running at double the power. Correct me of I'm wrong. I want to know how to change the ram to 1:1, and if it effects the overclock power of the e6300.

BTW is the bios 2001 a beta release or a stable one? Also if i update, will it reset my bios settings to default? There is also a 2004 update out. It's here:
http://rapidshare.com/files/21062073...eluxe-2004.rar

2001 or 2004 updates are not on Asus's website, so i don't know if any of them are stable or beta versions.
__________________

Last edited by Kai_2040; 22nd March, 2007 at 09:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 10:18 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Stay tuned Kia, I've asked cadaveca, one of our most knowledgeable members to walk you though this. Have a bit of faith and do as he asks and I think you'll see improvements.

I'm not sure what he's up to, so be patient.

I can tell you that I'm using the 2001 we have here at AOA files and that it is stable as far as my use reveals.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 12:05 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai_2040
Thanks for the quick reply,

Well, regarding the lag issues. The sound and video stutters, when my ram usage is about 50%. When I close a few applications or restart, my ram would be on 30% and no video or sound lag occurs. So I am sure it is a problem with my RAM ratio being at 4:5. My current frequency is 300mhz, and I read that when you put the ratio to 1:1, the frequency doubles, thus my RAM would be running at double the power. Correct me of I'm wrong. I want to know how to change the ram to 1:1, and if it effects the overclock power of the e6300.

BTW is the bios 2001 a beta release or a stable one? Also if i update, will it reset my bios settings to default? There is also a 2004 update out. It's here:
http://rapidshare.com/files/21062073...eluxe-2004.rar

2001 or 2004 updates are not on Asus's website, so i don't know if any of them are stable or beta versions.

okie dokie, we need some info...like what flava of Gskill PC6400 ya got there.

4:5 IS problematic, and has not worked quite right since BIOS 1305. However, It's generally best ot update to the most recent BIOS when having issues, but in this case this may ruin your "sweetspit" in your overclock and cause you to start over again. I don't suggest updating to a bios not found on ASUS's site unless you are prepared to deal with issues..not that there will be issues, but it's a risk you take in doing such activities

In regards to the ramspeed doubling, this is only DDR function, and not something you need concern yourself about. 1:1 means ramspeed will = FSB speed. To get the 1:1 ratio, you want to select 533mhz for your ram speed in bios. This is as shown is the screen below:
Attached Thumbnails
RAM issues - PC Lagg-p5wbios.gif  
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 23rd March, 2007 at 12:06 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 12:36 AM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

So I should set it to 533mhz? Isnt Pc6400 supposed to be 800mhz? This is the RAM I have:
http://www.gskill.com/en/f2-6400phu2-nr.html
(the 2x512mb version)
Heres my CPU-Z.
Attached Thumbnails
RAM issues - PC Lagg-cpuz.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by Kai_2040; 23rd March, 2007 at 12:39 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 12:44 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Yes, PC6400 is 800mhz, however, If you are overclocking, setting FSB speeds higher than default will also cause memory speed to increase, and the ram you have is not known for it's overclocking abilities.

So, By setting ram @ 1:1 ratio, you get some headroom in memory speed, as well as getting the most efficient divider, as any other causes a timing offset that hampers performance, and, like in the case of 4:5, can greatly affect stability.

1:1 is the same speed as FSB, so no change or delay occuring in the signal timing, but in Core2 cpu's, this speed is 266mhz(533mhz to ram people, or pc4300). 333mhz is pc5300, or 667mhz memory, and 400mhz is pc6400, or 800mhz memory, as memory work in a dual data rate fashion, or DDR.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 23rd March, 2007 at 12:45 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 04:56 PM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

Ok, I have done as you have said and Cpuz now shows that the ratio is 1:1, although my frequency has gone lower. Is this normal? So far i havent noticed any and thanks it has solved my problems. I'll post any updates regarding RAM problems, if i experience anymore.

Thanks Alot Mate!

Kai
Attached Thumbnails
RAM issues - PC Lagg-cpuz2.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by Kai_2040; 23rd March, 2007 at 05:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 05:01 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

speed is lower, yes, of course. You may find that with some careful testing you could tighten latencies and get a performance boost...even from the "stock" timings of your mem. It's a long process tho, so unless you find you are having issues, simply pushing the FSB further up to boost memory and cpu speed together will see greater gains than having memspeed simply faster.

You'll find most ealry-week Conroe chips do scale quite well, with more than half hitting 400FSB, and this metric does not consider problems due to other components in the system.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 05:10 PM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

Ok thanks mate.

Just added images of Cpuz on last post.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 06:26 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

your ram is programmed for 4-4-4-10 operation @ 266mhz...you can try these settings in bios wihtout worry, altohuhg as a precaustion, I'd use a memtestx86 disk to make sure it's ok(should be though)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 08:47 PM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

How do i do this? Also would it improve my RAM?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 08:56 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

You can download Memtest here:
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 08:57 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

it will improve latencies, and thereby give more badwidth. the issue @ hand is that you really do not need so much ram speed(mhz) for that cpu. to change timings, pls try this screen here(4-4-4-10-4 sounds just right):
Attached Thumbnails
RAM issues - PC Lagg-p5wtimings.gif  
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 23rd March, 2007 at 08:57 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 09:45 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Whooosshhh!!~~

Just read the thread! This whole scenario is Kai's own fault.

Why? Well, I don't know.

Thanks, though, Cadaveca, for helping my brother out! =)

Kai, you need any help, gimme a tinkle. I'm 2 rooms away from you. =P
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 10:35 PM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

Well I can't seem to find the timings settings in bios. I have searched everywhere, and still no luck. Please can somebody point me in the right direction. I am also experiencing V-core voltage errors in PC Probe. It goes down to 1.1x V and when it goes to 1.30V the alarm goes away. What is wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
RAM issues - PC Lagg-1.jpg  
Attached Images
 
__________________

Last edited by Kai_2040; 23rd March, 2007 at 10:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 10:43 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

It's in "Advanced" on the main header, top of first screen. Scroll down to "Chipset" . Should do it.

You might want to spend some spare time with the manual, makes most things easier...but not all.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 23rd March, 2007 at 10:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 10:55 PM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

I was meant to edit that post, because i worked it out in the end. I needed to disable something like in the picture provided to me. Well here is my cpuz now.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 10:59 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

looks good. The pc probe warnings you can ignore.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 11:46 PM
Kai_2040's Avatar
Member
7UP Pinball Champion
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 29

Thanks for all your help guys! I finally have no problems with video stuttering or audio stuttering, for now. I'll let you guys know if anything else crops up.

Thanks for your time.
Kai
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
having some ram issues bonesaw General Hardware Discussion 11 31st January, 2007 05:27 AM
XP SP 2 issues? Samuknow OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 9th April, 2006 08:59 PM
ram issues Skiracing108 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 28th May, 2005 04:58 AM
Issues cadaveca ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 25th April, 2005 07:15 PM
Issues with GF4 TI Samuknow Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 19th July, 2002 01:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0