AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2007, 08:45 PM
kadu07's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to kadu07 Send a message via MSN to kadu07

Motherboard problem

Hi,
Just started to put my pc together when it started giving me quite a big problem. Everytime i hook everything up the green light on the motherboard lights up and the led around my power button lights up but my pc doesnt switch on. Ive tried with a 300 and 400 watt but still got the same problem. Im using an Intel D915PSY. Any suggestions?
Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2007, 09:06 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Are you sure you have your front panel controls in the right place and orientation?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2007, 09:22 PM
kadu07's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to kadu07 Send a message via MSN to kadu07

Yeah i double checked it and even tripple checked it and got someone else to check too. Could my motherboard be dead?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2007, 10:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Clear CMOS. Change the slots of the memory modules. Use different memory.

Remove everything one by one until your left with just your CPU and Motherboard to boot. Then you'l know if either something else is the problem, or you'l have narrowed it down to just the cpu/motherboard.

GL.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 11:18 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadu07
Hi,
Just started to put my pc together when it started giving me quite a big problem. Everytime i hook everything up the green light on the motherboard lights up and the led around my power button lights up but my pc doesnt switch on. Ive tried with a 300 and 400 watt but still got the same problem. Im using an Intel D915PSY. Any suggestions?
Thanks
Please post your rig in its entirety.
The D915PSY is for socket 775, P4 and core2 with PCI-E. This means that your system can be extremely power hungry.
300W & 400W PSU are totally insufficient, certainly if they are of the no brand generic type.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 11:42 AM
kadu07's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to kadu07 Send a message via MSN to kadu07

Right well this is the entire system:
Intel D915PSY
P4 515 2.93ghz
1GB DDR400 RAM (4x256)
SATA 250GB HDD
IDE DVDRW
300/400watt PSU
ATI Radeon x1600 256mb

Btw the CMOS is taking out that little battery right?

Also all the parts are working since I put them all in a different motherboard except the graphics. My friend put that in his pc and it worked.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 12:04 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

I'm sorry to have to bring it to you like this, but I think your problem is the PSU.
A P4 like that draws a lot of power, and so does your graphics card.

Are you sure you plugged in all power connectors on the motherboard and the graphics card?

To clear the CMOS you can either take out the battery for a minute or so, but usually there is a jumper that does that too. Whatever is the easiest.

Test with one stick of memory and no storage devices. See if it helps.

I would also suggest to get yourself a decent PSU.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 12:07 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I will second that notion....
Bad or underpowered supplies are the root of all evil.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 12:34 PM
kadu07's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to kadu07 Send a message via MSN to kadu07

Well the thing is my friend has a core2duo, same amount of better ram then me and he had my card running on a 400 fine.
If it would atleast power on then I would also think its the psu but its not even doing that.
I'll check all the battery and using less parts and post back later today.

PS I think my mobo has died =(
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 12:41 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

A core2 duo uses far less power than a P4. And certainly the last models of the P4 using netburst technology.

Try this:
Take out the graphics card and attempt to power on the board. If you don't hear any beeping sound or some kind of error sound your board might indeed be damaged.

edit: Where did you get those power supply units? How old are they?

edit2: The one 400W noname PSU isn't the other. And I think you will need at least 500W for stable operation.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21

Last edited by Wolf2000me; 3rd April, 2007 at 12:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 08:52 PM
kadu07's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to kadu07 Send a message via MSN to kadu07

Hmmm pretty stange tha a P4 is more power hungry. I guess I cant do much at the moment since im skint and cant get a new motherboard, (sucks when you cant have a job cuz of your age). Thanks for all your help guys but I think this topic is gonna have to be closed =(
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 09:38 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadu07
Hmmm pretty stange tha a P4 is more power hungry. I guess I cant do much at the moment since im skint and cant get a new motherboard, (sucks when you cant have a job cuz of your age). Thanks for all your help guys but I think this topic is gonna have to be closed =(
A P4 is chip built on the netburst technology. Google it up for more info.
The thing with those chips is that this technology is very energy inefficient because of its "brute force" type of processing through very long pipelines.
The core2 is a totally new design that came from going back to the intel coppermine PIII design, later improved like the Yonah, being a mobile processor. This design was called "Core". So now the new Conroe and such of cores are improved ones from their previous versions, hence Core2.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Core

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_core_2

Buy Why close the thread or give up on the board? Just try and play around with it. As long as you don't void the warranty you've got nothing to lose

Might I ask how old you are? As I'm sure there are some possibilities available?
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2007, 12:32 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
I will second that notion....
Bad or underpowered supplies are the root of all evil.
...and man needs roots!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the problem my motherboard? brunobm EPoX MotherBoards 5 5th December, 2005 06:54 AM
Problem: 8K7A motherboard - Please help anthonyv Hardware Hacking 0 8th February, 2005 06:43 PM
Motherboard Problem cintrone CRASHED! 1 2nd September, 2003 02:34 AM
motherboard shutoff problem fixed! so far at least! DisposableHero EPoX MotherBoards 1 17th January, 2003 07:30 AM
Motherboard Monitor Problem The_Silverite Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 3rd June, 2002 09:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0