AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2007, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 79

no power, no noise no boot!

right ive 2 systems

conroe and a amd64

at the time i was runnung the core duo (amd is in bits) through a surge protector

e4300 with a gigabyte DS3 mobo
connected to a xclio truepower 550w

im browsing a web page, nothing intensive, and suddenly the pc powers down, i press power button and nothing happens

i remove everything apart from the mobo cpu and ram and psu, still nothing, i change the fuse and hear a pop as i plug the power cable into the back of the psu. still nothing,
i remove ram and cpu, and try with a different psu... nothing

i asume the mobo is bust so i plud the original xclio psu into my amd64 machine which was un plugged but worked perfectly,

nothing!

i plug the 2nd psu into the amd machine and no power, i check front panel connections ect,

i get a old 350w psu and plug it into the amd machine (24pin wont fit into core duo machine) ... nothing

so i try a 13amp random cable i found (well, from my speakers)
it works!!! cant test it on the core duo machine though

i both fuses (original and new) are blown
i think the xclio is at fault??
maybe the original power cable? i havnt tried the original cable with the old psu with a new fuse yet) to be sure its not a faulty cable

i just hope the mobo and the cpu/ram gpu are ok on my main rig (conroe)

so conroe is down every way i try
amd is up with old 350w psu and different cable
amd is not up with either psu or with the different cable

i guess both power supplies are bust,
want to know if you think my mobo is and rest of pc, and to vent the frustration i had last night!

hope it makes sense!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2007, 04:12 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I have had PSU's kill boards before. Went tthrough 2 boards before I realized the PSU was bad. It would start the machine and run for a bit and then kill the board. It sounds like the PSU killed itself and the board.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2007, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I have had 2 power supplies die with a pop and flash, both times it has taken the motherboard with it. This was with older rigs though, no external power to the vid card etc. Depending on which rail decided to flash it could have taken other components as well. Which sucks because the only way to find out is to plug unknown parts into known good computers and risk killing that one too.

I have never used an Xclio PSU but, I have heard they were decent. I have tested a number of PSU's from Antecs to OCZ's and there are only two manufacturers I will trust my rigs to anymore. Silverstone (not every model will fit the bill) and my number 1 choice is PC Power & Cooling. PCP&C has been acquired by OCZ so the jury is still out on whether the quality of PCP&C will remain the same.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2007, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 79

well,

try'd again this afternoon, and both mobo turn on now with the fused cahnged (2nd time) with a cheapo q-tek psu

can get past post on 1 machine (amd) but the ps2 keyboard connector is bust

oter mobo power up, but ive not replaced the cpu gpu to assess the damage.

promising eh!
funny thing, i did this last night to no avail, and today i got thus far, (may have bin bad luck or i was just tired lol)

ill rma the psu (its 3 months old!)
this things happen randomly right... i dont need my house re-wiring ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2007, 01:55 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Now that mainstream PC's are gluttons for power-and my current config is no heavyweight- I personally use only top of the line power supplies. Yes, it's costly. But sometimes you just need bragging rights. Mostly 'cause my A Box is lame.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2007, 04:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 79

aye, however the branded psu i was using failed after 3 months, the one before than (generic) lasted for over a year.

pleased to say, both systems are working fine, the psu is bust every time i connect it it blows the fuse. lets hope the long term reliability isnt affected.

funny thing, system crashed while it was not overclocked... yet had spent 2 months overclocked in the past.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2007, 02:17 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

It's funny, PC's can do the strangest things maybe the two months of OCing stressed the PSU? An Enermax went bad on me once, PC P&C to the rescue.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2007, 12:50 AM
Member
Penguin Bashing Champion, Action Fish Champion, Cat Bowling Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion
 
Join Date: August 2006
Location: Blenheim, NZ
Posts: 52

Sounds like the same problem i was having. My comp blew up 3 psu's before i decided to get new parts. I didnt want to risk any of my other parts. Core 2 here i come.

I was using an enermax when my comp blew up. I dont trust them anymore, it took my MoBo with it.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
MoBo: ASUS Striker Extreme
RAM: 2 x 1024mb Corsair Dominator PC8500C5D
GPU: MSI 8800GTX HD-OC 610/1000 768MB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Case: Thermaltake Shark Black Aluminium Case
HD: Hitachi 160GB 8MB Cache 7200rpm and a Western Digital WD2500KS 250GB 16MB Cache 7200rpm
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Speakers: Logitech Z-640
DVD Burner: LG GSA-4163BBK Dual Layer

Last edited by Minibull; 21st July, 2007 at 12:51 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2007, 06:26 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

It's worse when the power supply just has to take a friend with it. Demand PC Power&Cooling PSU's. Especially if someone else is footing the bill. Yeah, I wish.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent boot power failures with 8KDA3J jlowe EPoX MotherBoards 6 21st July, 2004 11:31 PM
Help!! Weird 'drip' noise on boot after windows loads!!! bluestreak84 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 3rd May, 2004 12:30 AM
8KTA3 Pro won't boot after power cut knareweb EPoX MotherBoards 6 31st January, 2004 04:04 PM
8RDA+ whining noise when power off AutoSear EPoX MotherBoards 4 3rd February, 2003 12:59 AM
8RDA+ Slow Windows Boot & Power LED Related Problems x5auctions EPoX MotherBoards 12 12th December, 2002 08:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0