AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2007, 12:44 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Angry Sick of this machine

Well, I came home from a meeting at church last night to hear my fan on my video card racing as if I were gaming for hours. I tried to wake up the monitor, and nothing. No biggie, I will just restart. The fan instantly maxes out again and nothing on the screen. HDD light stays on. I am thinking great, this POS video card died again. Shut it down and remove the card and install my trusty PCI card to get it going. Boot it up and nothing. Shut down, reset CMOS and boot. Monitor syncs and still no pic. I shut it down and try another PCI card. Still nothing but a monitor sync. Reset CMOS again and move jumper to safe boot. It's a DFI thing. Still nothing. As you can imagine I am rather pissed at this point. I shut it down and unplug everything except the water pump and 1 drive. Nada. I move the safe jumper back to default. I then leave it alone for a while while I finish up another build.

I try it again about an hour later and I get a display from the video card and then a faint glow to the screen. Nothing else happens. I try reboot and hold down the Insert key. This should boot to default. I then see the video card splash again. I can do this over and over but it gets no further. If I do not hold down the insert key and keep rebooting, to steal a line from Sgt Schultz, " I see nothing "

I will spend some time tonight narrowing it down. Anyone care to post a guess? Maybe I can run a poll to see who is right. Test your skill.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2007, 01:30 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Sound like a good excuse to upgrade. Did you try with a hammer?
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2007, 01:44 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I might be tempted to say the motherboard gave up the ghost. Either that or your A64 had that much feared "sudden death syndrome"

Either way, that is rough for you
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2007, 03:20 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

with it trying to boot sometimes I can make a good guess it is the board.

I will throw a diff cpu in to double check.

I will also throw in another PSU to make sure that is fine.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2007, 06:39 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Sam;
Are you getting no beep codes at all?
This sounds like a carbon copy of what happened to that A8N-SLI and you know what happened with that one. Still waiting for the replacement.

Could be a corrupted BIOS though...I don't think that the DFI's will sound a beep code if the BIOS is borked. Do you have access to a machine you could hot flash the BIOS in?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2007, 07:15 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Does sound like it's your board. Odds against both your cards dying at once... sorry Sam.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2007, 07:53 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

The DFI has flashy lights... what i mean is Diagnostic lights.. do they all switch off correctly? Theres 4 towards the PCI slot... And then 3 more i think for power for the RAM etc... which stay on.. have to refer to the manual to make sense.. xD

You did say they ya get a gfx screen so they should be working properly..

New system time me thinks, same for me.. me thinks..
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___





Last edited by Abdul; 29th August, 2007 at 07:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2007, 08:21 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

no beeps.
i have the speaker turned off. I will try the hard clear first. As I said, I had an issue like this before. I did have to send it back to DFI once to get the bios flashed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2007, 01:18 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Well here is what I know.

tried the video card in another rig I just built. Machine does not even recognize that the card is installed. It boots to the on-board video and never sees new hardware. Installed it several time to make sure it was seated. I did make sure I attached the PCIe plug. The fan ran wide open.

Now on to my board issues. Did the hard reset as listed in the link. Only waited a few minutes. ( never heard my machine beep before) Got the flash from the pci video when I set everything back to normal. Then nothing but a black screen. Well it has a little glow to it to be exact. I have it down to do the 24 hour clear. I will post back findings tonight or tomorrow.

I am more than a little bent about my card. It has been back only a week or so. I did not put the WB on it or anything. Just the stock card. Worked fine for a few days and then racing fan and no output.

Not sure what happened here. Maybe board BIOS borked and brought the video card along for the ride. Would not be the first DFI board that spit out a BIOS.

I will try my CPU in the other machine I just built along with my memory. That way I can eliminate the stuff that still works. Depending on how badly this goes, there may be some items showing up in the classified ads.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 30th August, 2007 at 01:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2007, 02:17 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

I guess you are a sinner!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 30th August, 2007 at 02:28 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2007, 02:21 PM
hjason7812's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 42

have you tried to go into safe mode with networking?
because if you can't go into safe mode with networking it is a big problem.
my buddy cannot go into safe mode but he can use his pc normally.
and every once in awhile it will flash a windows logo and say please wait.
and beep and turn black and white for a few minutes and back to normal.
__________________
cpu: AMD Phenom II 1055T Six Core Processor
gpu:3 XFX ATI Radeon HD 5570 1GB
psu: XION Real Power 1000W ATX
Motherboard: ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Memory: 8 Gb's of Kingston Hyperx 1333 DDR3
Case: Xion Solaris Black/Green ATX Mid-Tower
OS: Windows 7 home edition 64 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2007, 02:42 PM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Well, that is really weird.

Don't worry Sam, it would be over soon......one way or another.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2007, 03:25 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjason7812 View Post
have you tried to go into safe mode with networking?
because if you can't go into safe mode with networking it is a big problem.
my buddy cannot go into safe mode but he can use his pc normally.
and every once in awhile it will flash a windows logo and say please wait.
and beep and turn black and white for a few minutes and back to normal.
It will not POST at all. Nada, nothing,
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2007, 12:39 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Ok, here it is.

As I said I tried my video card in another rig and all I had was a screaming fan and nothing else. It did not even detect the card in windows. It booted right up with the on board video and nada on the 7900. Tried to force the install with a detect new hardware and installing drivers. It stopped during the driver install indicating that it did not find a compatible device.

Now on the the board. After a good long nearly 24 hour CMOS reset, it is the same. I tried yet another PCI video card. I get a single beep and the HDD light stays on. The odd thing is that the monitor syncs up. Nothing shows up but it wakes up. If during the boot up I hold down the insert key, I get the splash screen from the video card. Then it goes to blank again. Right about the time it should be showing the bios POST screen. This brings me to the conclusion that the bios is borked.

On my last DFI board, I sent it in twice to get the bios flashed. They did it both times at no cost. Short of my shipping cost to them. SO, I think that is my option. I will contact DFI to see if they are willing to help me out. Maybe get another bios chip and once it is running, I will try a hot flash on my current bios chip.


On my video card, I am not sure what the deal is. It still had the stock cooler on it. I may have slightly OCd it. But very minimal. I just have not had the time to play with it since I got it back. Not sure if the card took my board along for the ride or the board bios smacked my video card up side the head. I have had nothing but problems with this PNY card. I imagine I will get a nasty email if I try to RMA it again. It has been back twice already.

In the interim, my 14 yr old son is grounded for life, so I have his socket A rig at my desk so I can at least email and stuff. I have my SATA drive connected via a USB adapter and it works great. Not the speed I am used to but it works.

Feel free to post any comments, input, or suggestions.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2007, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post

In the interim, my 14 yr old son is grounded for life, so I have his socket A rig at my desk so I can at least email and stuff. I have my SATA drive connected via a USB adapter and it works great. Not the speed I am used to but it works.

Feel free to post any comments, input, or suggestions.
Meanie.
Good to have you able to keep us posted though. Wish I had a magical solution for you...
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2007, 03:23 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quit putting it off and just get a stick!!!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2007, 03:55 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin View Post
Meanie.
Good to have you able to keep us posted though. Wish I had a magical solution for you...

Quite nice of me considering the crime. Not showing up at school could carry the death penalty in my house. Ex-Military and disobedience never mixes well.

When I get some time one of two things will happen. I will pull the board and send it off to DFI or, I will part this thing out. It won't take long to save up cash for a new rig.

I'll let you guys know how it goes.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2007, 05:49 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I just hate this! When every move costs ya and you just don't know what move to make! I'd send it back to DFI, It may just be pettiness on my part, but when a board makes me suffer, I want the manufacture to know a lest some of my pain.... Besides, you may finally, at long last, get a working board out of them....to use or sell...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2007, 06:03 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

This has been the only drawback to DFI boards. People have had to fight with this from the beginning. They are worth the fight though. I have only had this board a few months. Even though it is an older board, I bought it unopened and new. I will get a hold of DFI today.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2007, 06:47 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Ah, seems a fairly large drawback...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTF? <- Wow, this is sick alexkerhead ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 0 11th February, 2005 02:19 AM
ok...THIS makes me sick... Duckman Random Nonsense! 9 22nd January, 2003 09:49 AM
Ive been sick :-( The Spyder Random Nonsense! 1 8th April, 2002 05:07 AM
SICK! Yet again.......................... The Spyder Random Nonsense! 3 7th January, 2002 10:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0