AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 13th September, 2007, 02:51 AM

Vista being *Awesome* and crashing

I'm a total newb at overclocking but I got my comp over clocked to 3890 MHz and It was at about 45C and whenever I try to overclock any higher than this vista just completly freezes I was wondering if anybody knew if this was Vista being stupid and or if anybody else has had this (im going to be putting xp on this machine in a few months so then I will see for sure but wanted an expert OC opinion)
Old 13th September, 2007, 02:56 AM
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion

Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

There are limits to how far you can overclock before you start seeing stability problems (indeed, that's how you know when you've pushed too far).

I'd say you've probably gone as far as you can.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 13th September, 2007, 06:41 AM
Benchmarker

Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Well what Gizmo said. It can be Linux or XP or 2000 when you go too far the system either crash or freeze.