AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 07:34 AM
coolyoyo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: metro Phx
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to coolyoyo

Soltek 75DRV5 won't boot

Just got this Soltek 75DRV5 mobo but it won't boot not even POST...just a black screen. If I clear the CMOS at least I can get into BIOS. But whether I make changes or not, as soon as I exit BIOS it won't boot or POST. Not until I clear the CMOS again.

Other Hardware:
OCZ PC3000 DDR ram
Asus V3800CE video card
YS tech fan connected to FAN1 connector
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2002, 12:01 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome aboard AOA, coolyoyo! You might try taking everything off of the mainboard except 1 stick of RAM, the Video card, and the CPU. If it POST's properly, more than half of the battle is behind you.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2002, 01:31 AM
coolyoyo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: metro Phx
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to coolyoyo

I did and that didn't help. Well, yesterday, I changed the speed of the RAM in BIOS from auto detect to 100MHz. Now I can boot. Also works fine set at 133. However, if it's set to 166, it won't POST/boot. But PC3000 ram shouldn't have trouble at 166?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2002, 11:14 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Glad that you got the booger to boot! It's possible that something other than the RAM is holding you back. Have you run the CPU that's on this mainboard at 166 Mhz FSB before? Is the Core Voltage adjustable on the Soltek?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 06:42 AM
coolyoyo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: metro Phx
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to coolyoyo

The Soltek has an adjustment for the memory. This is what I adjusted at 166. The FSB remained at 100. It also has a vcore adjustment for the CPU and a vdimm for the RAM. Once I do some benchmarking I'm thinkn of changing these and benchmarking them again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 03:17 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters
Glad that you got the booger to boot! It's possible that something other than the RAM is holding you back. Have you run the CPU that's on this mainboard at 166 Mhz FSB before? Is the Core Voltage adjustable on the Soltek?
Like Cloasters said, if the RAM timings are set to maximum but it's rated for less at PC3000 speeds, then this could happen...

How do you know the memory is running at 166 and bus at 100mhz? I thought the Epox was one of the only boards capable of doing that (running a 1/5 or 1/6 divider?)...
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 9th April, 2002 at 03:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL? Logan AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 23rd January, 2005 10:35 PM
Soltek SL-75FRN-L tRIcKI^ CRASHED! 1 5th August, 2003 05:32 PM
Soltek FRN-L Radiohead AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 5th August, 2003 01:32 PM
Soltek USA out of business? Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 2 15th May, 2003 11:36 PM
Soltek SL-75DRV4 Random Nonsense AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 23rd March, 2002 06:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0