AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2007, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

No Video after Reboot

Hey guys I'm trying to figure out why when i do a reboot on my system most of the time, nothing will be output to my monitor. I just gets no signal but if i actually turn the power off and right back on the screen will come back

Any ideas?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2007, 08:19 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

that is normal, i have had that on most of my machines, i think it something to do with the motherboard not resetting completely when you hit the reset button.
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2007, 09:00 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Can you shoot us the system specs? board video and so on.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2007, 09:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

EpoX EP-8RGM3I
AMD Athlon XP-M 2900+
2x512Mb PC3200 DDR
nVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2007, 10:04 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

How about your PSU?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2007, 10:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

600w Psu
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2007, 10:20 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

So, Now that I have picked your brain a little.

When you power on cold does it work?

When it does not, if you hit reset, does it work?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2007, 01:50 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Any progress with this "bug," djXternal?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2007, 07:39 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Have you tried reseating your card? I've never seen this, it would freak me out a bit if I did....
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2007, 06:31 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

is it a hard reset ? (ie pressing the button)
or a soft reset ? (ie getting the OS to do it)
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2007, 06:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

soft reset normally causes it, but havent really been having a problem with that lately.... just stability isuues with the cpu now, started another thread about that though: Athlon XP-M 2900+ running too hot
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Reboot Gizmo Random Nonsense! 20 8th July, 2007 05:29 AM
Reboot Strongwolf CRASHED! 6 17th October, 2006 01:50 PM
Reboot Strongwolf GAMES! OH YEAH! 0 15th October, 2006 10:15 AM
reboot loop mrands2 EPoX MotherBoards 3 9th May, 2003 10:57 PM
Won't Reboot. Mr T EPoX MotherBoards 9 25th January, 2002 08:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0