AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2008, 03:32 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Did I kill my mb?

firstly, I have a few USB brackets and I notice they are not all wired the same. example A. with the vcc at opposite ends . B. with vcc at the same end. would/could damage occur when using A on a MB with B? I think it did a number on my EP-8NPA SLI.
pictures of the two pin-outs cannot be uploaded because they're too big! so, A. for USB2.0-Ports 5/6;
1 USB+5V 2 USB+5V
3 USB P5- 4 USB P6-
5 USB P5+ 6 USB P6+
7 GRND 8 GRND
10 NC
B. the other that I believe is USB1.1;
1 VCC 2 GRND
3 NEG 4 GRND
5 POS 6 POS
7 GRND 8 NEG
10 VCC
so I plugged B onto MB A. now MB A doesn't post. spins the fans but no drives, CD or HDD. me thinks it is dead now.


Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dabaerman; 22nd January, 2008 at 03:36 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2008, 03:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I've done the same thing, I lost the usb output on the two external connectors but the usb in the I/O section still functioned. I imagine it would be possible to kill the board.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2008, 11:35 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

It's possible you might have killed it. Depending on how the sockets were wired, you might have wired VCC and Ground together.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2008, 02:53 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán View Post
It's possible you might have killed it. Depending on how the sockets were wired, you might have wired VCC and Ground together.

may have done that. will get more details later. thanx,

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2008, 05:22 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Continuing the saga of my misadventures with USB, I managed to wreck a pen drive by using it to test
my front panel USB. now not recognized by XP. of course I thought about backing up the
drive, as I was plugging it in. any chance for recovery?

The other issue was cleared up by purchasing a new case with all the right USB cabling and a new mb.


Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2008, 09:51 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Glad that it was an inexpensive fix. Yeah, right!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2008, 07:42 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

We all have our missing thumb nails and split lips, sorry ya got brused here.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 09:46 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Good to know...
Why would USB have different wiring?
I have read several times in motherboard manuals to never plug a USB into the 1934 port on the board, but I don't think thats what Dabaerman is referring to?
I don't ever want to fry my motherboard this way?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2008, 11:05 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

USB does not; a USB plug of a particular type will always be wired a particular way. The problem is that when you are dealing with the motherboard headers, you aren't dealing with a USB plug, and the mobo makers are free to pin the header out any way they like. Being mobo makers, they tend to do just that.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2008, 04:26 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo View Post
USB does not; a USB plug of a particular type will always be wired a particular way. The problem is that when you are dealing with the motherboard headers, you aren't dealing with a USB plug, and the mobo makers are free to pin the header out any way they like. Being mobo makers, they tend to do just that.
on that note: MSI motherboard headers, USB 2.0, are pined out differently on different socket A boards.
I have the backplane headers to prove it and some pics later.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2008, 04:33 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman View Post
on that note: MSI motherboard headers, USB 2.0, are pined out differently on different socket A boards.
I have the backplane headers to prove it and some pics later.

Ron
This is exactly why many case manufactures provide the USB header plugs that go to their front-panel USB connectors as a set of labeled single-pin plugs: you look at your mobo manual and plug the appropriately labeled plugs into their respective header pins on the mobo. This makes things a real PITA for the average Joe building a computer, but it's really the only option for case manufacturers in a world where mobo manufacturers can't agree among themselves (or even among different models from the same manufacturer, apparently) as to how the pins should be assigned.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2008, 05:07 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo View Post
This is exactly why many case manufactures provide the USB header plugs that go to their front-panel USB connectors as a set of labeled single-pin plugs: you look at your mobo manual and plug the appropriately labeled plugs into their respective header pins on the mobo. This makes things a real PITA for the average Joe building a computer, but it's really the only option for case manufacturers in a world where mobo manufacturers can't agree among themselves (or even among different models from the same manufacturer, apparently) as to how the pins should be assigned.
you are correct! the individually labeled pins are a PITA. as I didn't have the original case wiring,
and I THOUGHT I could make one to work, I managed to kill a damn good board. oh well.


Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2008, 01:27 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I think, again think, that that is not the case (no pun) anymore. I have put together dozens of computers over the last year and they all seem to have the same pin out on the board.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2008, 09:26 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Now I'm going to pay special attention to the headers before plugging in the USB cable.
Is there a specific standard for the color of wires to each pin?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2008, 10:59 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

I don't know of a color standard. They usually just have a little writing on them to indicate which they are. And if you just write down the color coding on a piece of paper you can figure it out from there. Funny how we have USB as a great standard, and yet the headers for it are so varied, with no standard.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad English can Kill chrisbard Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 21 7th January, 2007 04:54 PM
How much Caffeine does it take to kill you? WonderBread Random Nonsense! 21 3rd November, 2006 11:43 PM
Don't kill ME !!!!!! Southern Man Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 8 29th October, 2004 11:52 PM
Am I trying to kill my CPU alexkerhead Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 23rd September, 2004 12:14 AM
Did I kill it? gryphyn AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 25th November, 2002 12:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0