AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2008, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Dead Asus P5N32E

Hey guys.

So I read the sticky from Monkeyman and tried all those steps,and still no joy.
Im assuming the mb has got to be fried then.I cannot see any blown caps or resistors on the board.The only last solution is to somehow test my cpu and ram in another mb,i tested my graphic card in my NF4 mb,so its not that.The board was seriously undervolting of late,but I assumed it was the mb,not the psu.The psu,a CM Igreen 600watt,is only a few months old,and still powers on the pc.I stripped it to the bare minimum,took it out of the tower and then tried it like that with just ram,cpu,cpu cooler and vga,it only spins up with no post.Any ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2008, 10:57 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

It could be a toast BIOS. I have had that happen. See if ASus will check it out for you. Even if out of warranty, a bios flash or chip can be cheaper than another board.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2008, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Thanks Samuknow.
Is it possible to still flash a bios even it cannot post?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2008, 12:15 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Not without another board or another working chip.

If you have one or the other you can do a hot flash.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2008, 08:02 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Any progress with this m'board, Gman15?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2008, 11:47 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Wow that sucks. Let us know if it was the Bios. I have a P5N 32 SLI Plus for about 6 months and no problems.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2008, 08:19 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

The mainboard is historic? Or chugging along like a good board should?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2008, 02:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Hey guys.

Sorry for only getting back now,its been a hectic 2 weeks of work and upgrades.
So the P5N 32E was fried,got it swopped for Asus P5E,x38 chipset,very sweet,so far so good.
Got the cpu at 3.2 gigs with a 400fsb,rock solid,no lock up no reboots,temp goes to about 40-44 degrees with fan on low.
Zalman 9700 LED to thank for that.

Thanks guys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2008, 07:41 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Glad to read that you've fixed the problem. Sorry that you had to deep six the P5N.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P5N32E-sli weird 1403 bios Gman15 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 13th March, 2008 03:15 PM
Cant load XP on Asus P5N32E-sli Gman15 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 17 23rd February, 2007 02:13 PM
Dead A-Bit MercutioUK AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 13th December, 2003 08:07 PM
Not dead yet..... patti ~ Random Nonsense! 5 6th January, 2003 03:46 PM
Need to RMA dead IBM :-( The Spyder CRASHED! 13 5th April, 2002 06:01 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0