AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 03:37 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Just to eliminate another component. Do you have another PC you could try your graphics card in?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 05:47 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Did you try the CMOS clear? Remove the power cable, take out the battery, and place the jumper cap on the header. Leave it like that for several hours, or overnight. Then reverse the process and try booting it again.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 06:32 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

i do have my old pc but the problem is that it is agp, but regardless, i bought a new card and had the same result so i doubt is a card issue.

i will try to clear cmos for a long time, but again right now im using a "new" although "open box" board.

either they sent me a bad board or the cpu or mem is bad, what sucks is that i don't have spares for either, so i have to spend more money ordering stuff and then waiting for shipping on top of it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 07:09 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Very frustrating! Was in the same spot as I moved from AGP as well. Got a friend to loan me a Card or I'd been stuck. Look if no one comes up with anything better... you can follow your gut and RMA one piece at a time. Although Open Box has always been OK for me, I don't do it much and...you just have to take that into consideration, someone else had trouble here before you did!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 8th October, 2008 at 07:14 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 08:19 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

i ordered some mem to start there. hopefully i wont have to order anything else.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2008, 08:25 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I'll keep my fingers crossed for ya! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 05:42 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Understood. It SHOULD WORK! Yet something was lost in translation....

Here's what I would do.... I'd pull everything out of the box. Look really close as each thing is removed. lay it all out. then reassemble.

I've found that a certain point I CAN'T think my way through...If my assumptions were right I would have solved it by now!! ":O} I just have to handle the parts and install them carefully.... Somewhere along the line I made a misstep or a part went bad.....If it was an easy one I would have found it.

Oddly, this usually gives up the problem...! Best of luck!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 10th October, 2008 at 05:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2008, 05:22 AM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

bad mem

finilly got the mem i ordered and my system worked instatly. so it turns out both of my mem stiks went bad.

been running prim95 for 9hrs with no problems at default settings.

i will leave the test running overnight, hopefully everything will still be ok by tomorow.

now i have to see if corsair will replace my orig mem (2x1g Dominator pc8500).

it sucks that i now have the send the Asus P5E i ordered back to newegg and loose $ on shipping and re-stocking costs.
__________________

Last edited by MightyMar22; 15th October, 2008 at 05:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2008, 05:21 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Glad you were able to work your way through it. Sorry about the Return... happens to us all! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power drop vs power outage? (also need new router) barneygumble742 General Hardware Discussion 10 13th June, 2004 04:55 PM
Outage prat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 1st December, 2003 08:55 PM
8rda+ No Post After power off [xeno]exodus EPoX MotherBoards 17 5th February, 2003 03:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0