AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2008, 11:17 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

It was actually the UPS. I pulled it out and got a new one. All is well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2008, 01:18 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

just read through this i was going to laugh and say sam check your sleep/shutdown after xx time options in windows lolz.

Nice you found the problem.....
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2008, 01:30 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I never let my PC sleep or standby. It kills folding....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2008, 05:23 PM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Hey with that grey hair comign in sam you might have forgotten lolz j/p with ya glad you fixed it...
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2008, 06:16 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

The only grey I have is in my beard. The hair on my head is falling out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2008, 07:38 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Falling hell! Mines jumping off!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2008, 09:32 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Like abandon ship kind of jumping off????
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2008, 01:14 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
It appears I either have a bad power cord or my battery backup is toast. I plugged in another computer that gave a quick arc and my pc shut off instantly. I plugged it into another APC surge suppressor not my battery backup. Both however, are plugged into the same outlet. Everything else stayed on. It must be a quick enough burst that just the pc sees it. I will switch some stuff around to see if it goes away.
I was going to recommend that you install a new wall outlet. I've seen these get real weak and go bad on copiers. We have a "FUN" time with that!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2008, 08:36 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
Like abandon ship kind of jumping off????
Just exactly like! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2008, 12:38 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
The only grey I have is in my beard. The hair on my head is falling out.
ditto, but my beard has some blond that looks gray.


Actually since we've been talking about outlets, I had to replace an old breaker because it died after I've been running 4 computers, ceiling fans, and lights on that circuit that my contracted electrician spliced into (12guage) when he wired my new office.
So the wife plugs in the vacume and out goes the power.
I was thinking the outlet too....
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2008, 06:53 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I vacuum will push any 15 amp circuit over the limit. I will not plug one in on the same circuit as my TV or PC even with surge suppression. They put a crazy amount of noise back on the line.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2008, 07:28 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I guess a cordless vacume will come in handy... I didn't know vacumes required so much power!?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2008, 08:41 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Watch the lights when you turn it on. They are pigs. Most of them brag that they are 12 Amps.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 12:11 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
After changing the power connection to a different place, my computer was still running this morning.....YAY.
Crap!! I was going to recommend a new wall outlet. You can get them for like $.99.


**edit**
guess I already did!!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah

Last edited by robbie; 17th October, 2008 at 12:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 01:34 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I didn't think you were that old yet....LOL

Got a new APC and life is good. Well new to me. Work pitched it due to a bad switch. 20 min later and all is well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 17th October, 2008 at 01:35 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows shutting down....or not. HydE General Hardware Discussion 18 18th December, 2005 01:51 AM
Error when shutting down, 8RDA3+ mrdak EPoX MotherBoards 20 20th August, 2004 10:32 PM
Shutting Down dabaerman ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 21st September, 2003 11:51 AM
8RDA+ Shutting Down when bumping up vcore chopper EPoX MotherBoards 9 25th May, 2003 07:16 PM
Antec psu shutting down Thundr7 General Hardware Discussion 34 9th June, 2002 09:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0