AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 02:37 PM
richvanrooyen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62

Dead machine/memory

Hey guys... It's been a while since I have managed a moment to post. Things have been pretty busy but very interesting. Currently working with high availability testing for our product suite. Lots of work in operating systems such as Solaris, AIX, Linux etc... With JBoss, WebLogic and WebSphere all mixed in a bucket Very challenging stuff.

Anyway, in the middle of this, my machine dies on me. It happened yesterday, after the updates from Microsoft. I can't imagine that these had anything to do with it...

Anyway, running dual partitions with Vista x32 currently and both operating system instances started flaking out, some reporting memory errors.

So, I dig into it and figured out that 2 of my 1 gig memory simms seem bad (tested with MemTest86 v1.70). They immediately start throwing errors when just running with the single simm.

Anyway, the other two simms (the good ones) would run, but not in an overclocked mode. I had to clock back down to stock and then the two good simms seem to work without locking up MemTestx86.

The machine was oc'ed at 3.4 ghz from a stock of 2.66 ghz

Any comments? Thoughts?
1) I'm asuming that Corsair will replace the dead simms, but I'm concerned about the existing simms also as they won't overclock anymore.

2) Any idea what would cause this? I hadn't done anything exceptional on the machine lately other than I had just installed Brothers In Arms: Hell's Highway on the machine and play it for a night. Otherwise, I'm just doing the daily routine and using it for light duty at work.


PSU - SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V 850W Power Supply - Retail
MBrd- Intel BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66Ghz
Memory (4 gig total) - CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5D
Video - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
__________________
PSU - SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V 850W Power Supply - Retail
MBrd- Intel BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66Ghz
Memory (4 gig total) - CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5D
Video - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 02:47 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Bad memory will write bad info onto a hard drive.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 03:06 PM
richvanrooyen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62

I wasn't able to do anything substantial on the machine anyway... It was so bad that the machine suddenly wouldn't function at all... So, I'm not particularly worried about corrupted disk data.
__________________
PSU - SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V 850W Power Supply - Retail
MBrd- Intel BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66Ghz
Memory (4 gig total) - CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5D
Video - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 03:10 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

The only thing I can think Rich would be that ALL your memory is going bad. The dead ones are dead & the others are just hanging on before they go out too.
I think that is the reason you can push them anymore because they are getting ready to go out too.
(Looks like in the time it took me to write this that's what happened)

Btw, I got 2 more gigs of memory so 4gigs total, but my mobo doesn't like it for OCing at all. I guess it's from the added noise created by them being side by side now.

So I have it at 3.30GHz at default vcore with Enhance Powerslope enabled & its happy as can be like this.
Surprisingly even with it clocked down from 3.50GHz, my gaming performance has improved in both XP & Vista!
So I'm happy with it for now.

Eventually I'm going to get 2x2Gb dimms to replace the 4x1Gb dimms I have now because I think they will OC much better & stay cooler as well.
Anyways it's cool looking down at my Logitech G15 LCD display & seeing it's only at 40% memory usage even though the game is using over 800mbs of memory...

Btw, I hope you & your family are doing well.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 17th October, 2008 at 03:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 03:20 PM
richvanrooyen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62

We are doing relatively fine... Things are very busy at work so time to get things done around home are very short.... But, that is life right? Work work work work...

Anyway, so you think I should contact Corsair about replacing them all?

I would hate to invest more into this setup by purchasing new....

The kicker is that they are just over a year old.
__________________
PSU - SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V 850W Power Supply - Retail
MBrd- Intel BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66Ghz
Memory (4 gig total) - CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5D
Video - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 03:22 PM
richvanrooyen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62

I neglected to mention... I have been running Memtest86 on the simms for 2 hours now without a problem (the 2 good simms).
__________________
PSU - SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V 850W Power Supply - Retail
MBrd- Intel BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66Ghz
Memory (4 gig total) - CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5D
Video - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 03:31 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

If you bought them as a matched set, then the likely hood of all of them going bad is pretty good as all of them will be from the same batch.
But I could be wrong on this too as I'm not absolutely positive about this.
But it sounds logical.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 03:45 PM
richvanrooyen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62

The memory was purchased as a single memory batch... I will have to bring it up with Corsair...
__________________
PSU - SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V 850W Power Supply - Retail
MBrd- Intel BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66Ghz
Memory (4 gig total) - CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5D
Video - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 04:10 PM
richvanrooyen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62

Well... That was easy... RMAed the memory with Corsair...
__________________
PSU - SILVERSTONE DECATHLON DA850 ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V 850W Power Supply - Retail
MBrd- Intel BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66Ghz
Memory (4 gig total) - CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5D
Video - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 06:45 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I was about to mention that RAM is the easiest thing in the world to RMA and the Chip guys owe us PLENTY! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2008, 07:46 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by richvanrooyen View Post
Well... That was easy... RMAed the memory with Corsair...
That's great news Rich!

I've been running my memory slightly OCed for almost a year & a half now with no problems. Hopefully they will stay that way.
They should as I'm not overvolting them at all.

But I have read rumors that Slot 3 on the Badaxe 2 likes to eat memory for some reason...
Let's hope that this is all it is. I guess I'll find out soon enough now that all my slots are occupied.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 18th October, 2008 at 07:48 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C1 error code - memory slots dead??? marscay EPoX MotherBoards 19 20th August, 2005 06:23 PM
Dead motherboard/memory? endorphin CRASHED! 12 23rd November, 2003 09:45 PM
Machine ID# Daniel ~ ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 21st June, 2003 02:02 PM
Grr. One machine down dod ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 0 20th May, 2003 10:20 AM
3rd machine SteveI ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 2 18th October, 2001 08:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0