AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2008, 10:08 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

thanks Gizmo. I'll try those commands right now. I've been playing with "mount" and have noticed that it tells me info about the partitions.
I think my secornd drive is /dev/sdb but there is 2 partitions from an earlier Fedora installation. So I don't know which partition is which...
sdb1 or sdb2
if "mount" will tell me the size of each paritition like lvscan does then I'll know which one because there is a huge 130 Gig paritition and a 20 Gig or so paritition.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2008, 10:38 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I'm getting
Quote:
wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/mapper/back--up-LogVol01
missing codepage or helper program, or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so
here are some of my errors in dmesg:
Quote:
EXT3 error: group descriptors corrupted!
EXT3 fs error (device dm-2): ext3_check descriptors: Inode bitmap for group 0 not in group (block 8651778) !
VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev dm-3.
I think I've messed something up in my endeavors trying to troubleshoot.
I don't mind starting over with a whole re-install but it would be nice to use the other hard-drive.
Did I mention I deleted the /boot partition on this drive when I had it connected to windows?
it could be that or it really is corrupt.
If its too much of a hassle to revive this drive then can I just format it?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2008, 07:00 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I've also attached some drive info from rvscan
Fedora definitely sees the hard-drive as /dev/sdb1
but I get confused with /dev/sdb1 & /dev/back-up/LogVol00
I think its the same drive but how do I know
there are also some /dev/dm-0 drives, but I don't know what they are for... even though they have the same amount of space
Fedora 8 partition question-fedora-partition.jpg
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2008, 06:38 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Ah, your drives are being handled by LVM. Crap. I've not got a lot of experience with LVM. Frankly, I don't understand why Fedora defaults to using LVM, since it is WAY overkill for a user's machine, and introduces extra complications when things go wrong.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2008, 10:04 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

oh, I see, so maybe I should start reserching LVM?
I read the "help" file in LVM and tried some of the options like renaming, so forth....
But so far no success.
I noticed that when I "mount -t lvm /dev/back-up/LogVol00" it says lvm isn't a filesystem and "swap" isn't a file system either.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2008, 03:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Let me do a little research and see if there is anything Fedora specific that I missed. I use LVM2 on a couple of rigs with Gentoo and it is simple to manage so I know it's just something I missed along the way.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2008, 04:10 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Don't worry about it. I ended up starting from scratch and re-installed Fedora 8.
I partitioned:

/ 30gigs
swap 2gigs
/home 120Gigs
/backup 150gigs
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2008, 05:49 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Everything is formatted and re-installed. Fedora 8 server is back up again. I'll tell ya what, I've learned alot about formatting, /dev, fstab, ext3, LVM, lvscan, etc. Too bad I'll have to find some of those old games I downloaded, but otherwise not too much of a loss.

Now I have my backup drive installed so I can use Fwbackups to save my data. I plan to backup every day so I don't loose anything.

Thanks for your help EVERYONE! You guys do a good job when this isn't even a Linux forum!

By the way, I'm currently investigating wether the RAM is bad or if the PC-DL Deluxe motherboard has RAM issuses. I've seen plenty of threads about that motherboard having a "cow" over RAM...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2008, 11:53 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Glad you made it happen! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2008, 01:36 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Honestly, I'm happier with this configuration because now I've got everything formatted ext3 and I have /home on a separate partition & my /backup on a separate drive. I've installed fwbackups and did a test backup, it worked perfectly!
I'm glad I have a backup now on my server.
I've RMAed the 2 sticks of RAM and we'll see if that was the problem. If its the Asus PC-DL Deluxe, then I'll stick with 1 Gig for now.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2008, 01:20 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Incidentally, Fedora 10 is out in 3 weeks =D
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2008, 06:39 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Any word if it will update 8 if you wisely skipped 9?

( I've NEVER gotten 9 to even load on one of my boxes ( Tried three different setups over the months...?)
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 5th November, 2008 at 06:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2008, 09:15 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
Incidentally, Fedora 10 is out in 3 weeks =D
Has it been 6 months already?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2008, 03:44 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

As I've been reading through forums about formatting/partitioning issue, a majority of them is about people trying to update their Fedora and having problems. So they have to reformat and re-install...
So, for now, I've decided to stick with Fedora 8 for now because it works perfectly.
Once I feel comfortable with my backups I'll try a new version, maybe...
Until there is some new feature that I GOTTA have (Direct X support in Wine) then I'll think about updating.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2008, 03:51 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Throw the DVD in and give it a whirl when it comes out (some weeks yet). Backup before you upgrade as always, and we'll try to give you a hand if you have trouble.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2008, 03:57 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Apparently it true
Wine & Direct X10
thanks dsio
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2008, 12:13 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I received the new RAM from Corsair. Unfortunately its not the Dual RAM I sent them. But its been working fine for two days now. I'm back in Business, well I was always back in business but now I'm using 2Gigs or PC 2700....
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2008, 06:43 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I'm just amazed how fast your picking this up...like all green with envy! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 7.9 (moonshine) 64 bit question Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 17th August, 2007 08:02 PM
Quake 4 in Fedora question! Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 13 23rd July, 2007 10:19 PM
To partition or not to partition? piloteer81 General Hardware Discussion 2 5th August, 2004 10:13 AM
Partition Error jiggyjacobs CRASHED! 1 26th February, 2004 07:51 PM
Can't Clean a Partition....Help! andysly5 General Hardware Discussion 7 3rd December, 2003 11:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0