AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 01:01 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Servers Dying.........HIGH PRIORITY!!!:-d

Im here at my school- and im having server problems again- this is HIGH Priority- Ive been pulled from class all day to work on it... It seems that the students/ faculty server FREEZES the whole network when a larger file is accesed- and right now we are transerfing all the info to a new Dell- that was supposed to wait until this summer....... But, any ideas? It seems the 20 and 30gig WD harddrives are going BAD- any clue?
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 02:01 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Hmmmm.

Does the same slowdown happen whne accessin a large file on the server istlef, or only when large files are acessed over the network ?

Its difficult to suggest anything.

Have you (or anybody else) changed anything on the server/network recenty.

If not you may have some sort of hardware fault.

Sorry I cant be of more help.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 02:32 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

If the server is low on memory and has to write to a swap/paging file on the same physical drive, while servering, and while transferring this data, then .... well ,you see what I'm getting at. Ideally you need one drive for the OS and its services and that's it, use another for data storage....

That's all that came to mind for me, after that it's prolly one of the pieces of software (is there anything in the system logs??) or the drives are indeed failing. I'm doubting the drives are failing all at once.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 03:49 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

What OS are you running. Hows your virus protection?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 04:40 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Well..... the system is less then 1yr old- pIII 800- 512mgs ram- with 3 yrs old harddrives from the last server- it might be the virus software- it happened after we got a new update- but we removed it and it is STILL not working- and it is only when we access files OVER the network- i also replaced the NIC-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 04:42 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Its windows Nt 4.0 with all latest service packs-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 01:13 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

When you say "freezes" the whole network do you mean -

No-one can access the students/facilities server, or
No-one can access any of the network, regardless of server.

The first one is typically caused by hard disk problems, in that the hard disk is tied up trying to read bad data, so no further accesses are possible, until the HDD has finished it's recovery attempt. This should be logged in the event log if the read failed, but if the read ultimately suceeded, then there may no sign of problems in the event log.

The second would be caused by poor network infrastructure or a faulty device on the network.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 01:15 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII
When you say "freezes" the whole network do you mean -

No-one can access the students/facilities server, or
No-one can access any of the network, regardless of server.
It would help if I read the whole thread... It sounds like you've got failing or corrupt hard disks.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 03:31 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII


It would help if I read the whole thread... It sounds like you've got failing or corrupt hard disks.

AidanII
3 year old harddrives, especially ones being run on a server platform for all 3 years, are more likely to be the culprit. Adian's prolly right here...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2002, 06:35 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Q: The drives themselves are SCSI aren't they? IDE drives under heavy load operate very badly, and might lead to the problems you were describing, especially if the network is as fast or faster than the drives.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2002, 02:56 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

im srry to say that there IDE.................. i know i know- realy cheap school......... and i know its them now- i switched everything to a new dell and its works-
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2002, 03:01 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by Spyder462
im srry to say that there IDE.................. i know i know- realy cheap school......... and i know its them now- i switched everything to a new dell and its works-
SPyder
Phew..

Good job that server was handy.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High-priority updates @ MS update Daniel ~ Data Security 4 11th January, 2006 11:19 AM
Is Something Dying?? RussianMissile1 CRASHED! 9 27th July, 2004 03:22 AM
core priority warp1 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 20 20th October, 2003 09:07 PM
Dying PC... nab572 General Hardware Discussion 6 20th January, 2003 08:40 PM
Warning: Core_65.exe process priority dimmreaper ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 25 6th April, 2002 02:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0