AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2009, 05:28 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Maximus Extreme/Q6600 Board/Bios failure?

My flagship rig has a sudden and unusual problem.

This board has been running flawlessly at 438x8, 1.375 vCore for a year now, doing everything I ask of it and more; SMP and GPU folding on two cards 24/7, gaming, etc. CPU temps have never exceeded 55C or so at worst.

I had to open the case the other day to do some dusting and I noticed that the coolant hoses were hot. Not warm, but really hot. Rebooting into the BIOS it reported 78C on the CPU. Booting into the OS has speedfan and all other utilities reporting high 90's on the CPU cores, and CPU-z showed 1.856 vCore!

Back in the BIOS, all settings seem to be perfectly correct as I set them. Even reloading the saved BIOS settings (I can save two setups for the BIOS to load) will not reduce the vCore according to CPU-z. It seems to be "stuck" at 1.856 which is clearly dangerous. I am impressed that the CPU itself has stood up to that voltage; I can't say exactly how long it has been there.

Coolant flow is good, but both the Northbridge and CPU are burning hot. They are in the same loop. I used to be able to feel a bit of warmth if I put my finger on the Swiftech block and a bit more on the NB, but right now it is clear that something is seriously wrong. In addition, the radiator is burning hot.

The LCD Poster device that displays boot info is acting strangely, too, showing garbled info.

I have attempted the following:
BIOS setting restore to my overclocked setup
BIOS settings to defaults
Reflashed BIOS to current, and previous 2 versions
overnight CMOS clear/battery out

None of the above have done anything to reduce the vCore.

Board is under warranty, but before I make arrangements can anyone see anything I'm missing?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2009, 05:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I would check to make sure the rails on the power supply are in spec. Then RMA the board.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2009, 02:07 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Exclamation

Wow, I'm amazed that it hasn't burned up yet!
Sounds like the voltage regulators aren't working correctly anymore at all.
I'd unplug that before you waste the CPU & maybe even your graphics card and whatever else
is being powered by the mobo as you don't know what the voltages are going to everything else.
For all you know everything could be getting overvolted!!!

But if I saw this happening on my system I'd shut it down right away & RMA the mobo while it's still under warranty...if it still has one.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 13th April, 2009 at 02:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2009, 04:24 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

@Muff-
Other than troubleshooting it's been shut down since the moment I realized the problem-my momma didn't raise no fool

@Cliff-
12V rails are good, but the 5V is showing something interesting.

Today, after having the machine shut down all night, I noticed that I hadn't turned the power supply off. I also noticed that the LCD poster wasn't garbled. Just for laughs, I started the machine and it came up normally-with normal voltages, and temps were also normal. I tested the correct points for 12 and 5V. Both were OK.

I tried a warm reboot, and everything came up normally again. I let the machine idle all day today, with no change in temps or voltages.

I shut it down completely, making a cold reboot. The problem appeared again. Tested the volts again, 12V normal on both rails, but the 5V is seriously sagging. I let the machine sit for about 5 minutes with the power off but the PS switch on(as I had the night before). The LCD poster snapped into focus again, and the box booted normally.

I'll take a guess that a cap is going south in the PS, and not storing the necessary juice to start the box properly. After sitting for a few minutes it charges up and functions OK. I'll bet that's why it will warm boot but not cold boot.

All board functions are perfect when the LCD poster is working, so that is my guide temporarily. I have removed the PS and will open it up tomorrow and take a look at the guts after it drains out. With some luck I'll see something strange like a bulging cap and that will be that. This particular unit isn't under warranty anymore so if it's bad I'll upgrade it to a single-rail Corsair. I'll be in Bangkok next week and they are easy to get there.

If I don't see anything obvious, I may upgrade it anyhow-and test the rig with a new PS next week, then if the problem continues I RMA the MB.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 13th April, 2009 at 04:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2009, 06:12 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I just hate it when a favourite board starts in with the "I just can 't find my ass today what do you think is bothering me" ?!!

Unfortunately I see an RMA ( power supply or board) in your future...Hoping I am wrong!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 13th April, 2009 at 06:13 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OC'ing the Q6600 on the Intel D975XBX2 board Dieterr Intel Motherboards & CPUs 132 21st September, 2010 05:17 PM
Asus Maximus Extreme motherboard review danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 8th November, 2007 08:04 PM
Maximus Moose Southern Man Random Nonsense! 6 10th November, 2004 03:22 AM
P4 Extreme Edition on 4PCA3+ What bios supports it ? Goat Fajitas EPoX MotherBoards 3 2nd May, 2004 07:04 PM
Bios Flash failure Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 9 8th December, 2001 06:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0