AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 11th July, 2009, 03:33 AM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

Word. Of course now that the PSU is about a day away I realize it's probably way too big for my case and I'm gonna have to mod the hell out of it. Fun times ahead. I'll post pictures if I'm not too lazy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 11th July, 2009, 05:29 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I'll look at them...if your not to lazy...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2009, 05:17 PM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

My replacement i7 and memory will be here today. I just finished hacking out large chunks of metal in an attempt to fit the massive PSU I just bought in there. 95% successful. The front panel sticks out a bit now and the graphics card could not have been a tighter fit but everything is hooked up and hopefully I will be back in business tonight. Pictures later.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2009, 03:46 AM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

Up and running. Barely. Got all my RMA'd stuff back, popped it in, and lo and behold absolutely nothing happened. No fans, nothing. Apparently pulling out the CMOS battery and having the jumper moved to clear was the trick.

Anyways here are some pictures of my fresh new build. Cable management is obviously my forte.
Attached Thumbnails
Might Have Fried My i7 - Please Help!-pc2.jpg   Might Have Fried My i7 - Please Help!-pc3.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by jacksonwalters; 18th July, 2009 at 10:33 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2009, 05:02 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Any Bench marks? Hows she towing the line?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2009, 12:10 AM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

14.5k in 3DMark06 at stock. We'll see how it goes after overclocking.
__________________
  • ASUS P6T SE
  • Intel 920 i7 @ 21x171=3.6
  • 6GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1333
  • Seagate 1TB 5900RPM
  • ASUS GTS250 512MB
  • 600W Silverstone ST60F
  • Hauppauge Win-TV 1600
  • Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
  • 14" HP DV-2416US Laptop
  • AMD Turion X2 1.8Ghz
  • 120Gb
  • 2Gb
  • Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
  • *Soon*
  • Verizon/Motorola/Google DROID
  • Google Voice
  • Android 2.0

Last edited by jacksonwalters; 21st July, 2009 at 03:20 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2009, 01:11 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksonwalters View Post
14.5k in 3DMark06 at stock. We'll see how it goes after overclocking.
That's an old benchmark Jackson...
You need to now run 3DMark Vantage to see what your system can do & compare it with what others here have gotten on scores.

Vantage Download


3DMark Vantage Thread
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2009, 02:39 PM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

Yea, I know. Only reason I didn't get Vantage is 'cause I didn't feel like paying for it, but I guess I'll get the trial version.
__________________
  • ASUS P6T SE
  • Intel 920 i7 @ 21x171=3.6
  • 6GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1333
  • Seagate 1TB 5900RPM
  • ASUS GTS250 512MB
  • 600W Silverstone ST60F
  • Hauppauge Win-TV 1600
  • Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
  • 14" HP DV-2416US Laptop
  • AMD Turion X2 1.8Ghz
  • 120Gb
  • 2Gb
  • Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
  • *Soon*
  • Verizon/Motorola/Google DROID
  • Google Voice
  • Android 2.0
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2009, 03:07 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I always use the trial version...I already know how good I am...why pay them to tell me? ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2009, 05:26 PM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

Here be the Vantage score.
Attached Thumbnails
Might Have Fried My i7 - Please Help!-pcmarkvantage.png  
__________________
  • ASUS P6T SE
  • Intel 920 i7 @ 21x171=3.6
  • 6GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1333
  • Seagate 1TB 5900RPM
  • ASUS GTS250 512MB
  • 600W Silverstone ST60F
  • Hauppauge Win-TV 1600
  • Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
  • 14" HP DV-2416US Laptop
  • AMD Turion X2 1.8Ghz
  • 120Gb
  • 2Gb
  • Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
  • *Soon*
  • Verizon/Motorola/Google DROID
  • Google Voice
  • Android 2.0
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2009, 05:33 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

And a very nice one at that! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2009, 12:08 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Glad to hear its all up and running. So was it the Power Supply or the CMOS?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2009, 02:26 PM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

Honestly, I think it was the CMOS. I'll get around to testing the old PSU today and I'll know for sure. Regardless, this system needed a PSU and I should've splurged for one in the beginning.
__________________
  • ASUS P6T SE
  • Intel 920 i7 @ 21x171=3.6
  • 6GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1333
  • Seagate 1TB 5900RPM
  • ASUS GTS250 512MB
  • 600W Silverstone ST60F
  • Hauppauge Win-TV 1600
  • Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
  • 14" HP DV-2416US Laptop
  • AMD Turion X2 1.8Ghz
  • 120Gb
  • 2Gb
  • Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
  • *Soon*
  • Verizon/Motorola/Google DROID
  • Google Voice
  • Android 2.0
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2009, 11:10 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I usually can't afford to "splurge" so I at least budget for $100 or so. I have purchased 4 Enermax Powersupplies and absolutely love them
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2009, 11:28 PM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

Yup, I've only heard good things about Enermax. I make $9 an hour so I'd call it a splurge to buy a $120 PSU. Anyways, here are some pics of my Zalman, which of course doesn't fit in my case. Case mod anyone?
Attached Thumbnails
Might Have Fried My i7 - Please Help!-info.png   Might Have Fried My i7 - Please Help!-pc5.jpg  
__________________
  • ASUS P6T SE
  • Intel 920 i7 @ 21x171=3.6
  • 6GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1333
  • Seagate 1TB 5900RPM
  • ASUS GTS250 512MB
  • 600W Silverstone ST60F
  • Hauppauge Win-TV 1600
  • Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
  • 14" HP DV-2416US Laptop
  • AMD Turion X2 1.8Ghz
  • 120Gb
  • 2Gb
  • Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
  • *Soon*
  • Verizon/Motorola/Google DROID
  • Google Voice
  • Android 2.0
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 24th July, 2009, 01:50 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I told you I'd look! Very nice to look upon! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2009, 09:50 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

so you rma'd your ram and cpu and they sent you new ones back? id nearly have bet my mortgage on the psu glad you got it sorted
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2009, 10:37 PM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

Yea, I really think it was the CMOS, although the PSU definitely needed to be upgraded. Never hurts to play it safe though.
__________________
  • ASUS P6T SE
  • Intel 920 i7 @ 21x171=3.6
  • 6GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1333
  • Seagate 1TB 5900RPM
  • ASUS GTS250 512MB
  • 600W Silverstone ST60F
  • Hauppauge Win-TV 1600
  • Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
  • 14" HP DV-2416US Laptop
  • AMD Turion X2 1.8Ghz
  • 120Gb
  • 2Gb
  • Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
  • *Soon*
  • Verizon/Motorola/Google DROID
  • Google Voice
  • Android 2.0
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cmos , fried chips , power supply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fried CPU bossa AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 1st December, 2004 08:52 PM
Fried Or Not Fried? Microgers87 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 4th November, 2003 03:48 PM
MB got fried!! maddog EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st January, 2003 04:51 AM
Fried??? already???? The Spyder CRASHED! 17 28th August, 2002 09:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0