AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2009, 11:59 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Cloned drive won't boot

like the sign says, I cloned a 40g drive to a 60g. used one of the tools on UBD5. it's XP FAT32 and the 60g boots to the XP logo Blue Screen. it just sits there. I just might have to reformat an try it (cloning) again.
the idea was to make the 60g the boot drive and put WIN7 on it (upgrade).

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2009, 01:58 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I think Acronis offer a free (Demo) that will clone a smaller drive to a larger drive leaving the lager drive the same size ( you lose the extra space on the new larger drive.) So that it appears as being the same size as the smaller drive.

Look at the bottom of the page I've linked to for the free download.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2009, 10:48 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

Is the cloned drive sitting on the same physical drive controller as the one you cloned from ? - I've seen that make a difference.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2009, 12:16 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Just as JimF says - make sure the controller is the same. Going from one PC with ATA emulation (on SATA) enabled to an identical PC with AHCI enabled will break Windows.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2009, 04:45 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán View Post
Just as JimF says - make sure the controller is the same. Going from one PC with ATA emulation (on SATA) enabled to an identical PC with AHCI enabled will break Windows.

oops! well, I got the 40G to 60G fixed. got confident and tried to clone a 250G SATA1 to a 250G SATA2. I was in the same box using tha same program and ran into trouble after resizing the partition. borked them both. now I can't get XP re-installed. will always remember to iso the source drive first. and I thought it would be easy


Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clone



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'Cloned' CGI faces mimic people 'better than skilled actors danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 6 2nd June, 2009 05:30 PM
Which drive would 'you' use for a boot drive? :) Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 2 11th March, 2004 02:07 AM
Problems with 4PCA3+ seeing SATA drive on boot Shiva EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd December, 2003 09:55 AM
Will 8RDA+ boot from a USB floppy drive? Photon EPoX MotherBoards 6 22nd February, 2003 02:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0