AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2009, 04:03 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

Klingon-sized troubles

Heya guys. My poor computer died. :/ and unfortunately a tribble has stolen most of my fixing knowledge. Now the computer i'm having problems with is the one i mentioned in this thread: new technology for the klingon

I took it to a friends for a bit of internet access on it, and i was installing a newer version of IE than the one that comes default on Win XP Pro and of course it asked to restart; and it tried to boot, but it kept freezing up on the RAM check, then about the 3rd time it did it, i decided to check on the ram itself, it was warm (not too surprising as it had been on for a while), and took it out for a moment so it'd cool down due to overall better air flow of the apt. I then noticed the heatsink/fan of my CPU was filthy so i decided to clean that. when i was finished, i put the ram and the heatsink back in (took it out to clean it better [Just had blown it and used paper towel to get the dust off/out]) and turned it back on.

The result? a single long continuous beep. powered down, confirmed everything was tight, powered back up, BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEPPP... again, long continuous beep. Then i took out the cards, disconnected the drives for a minmal Ram/CPU/Power rig, and turn it on. nadda. no beep, no screen, no nothing. except for the smell of ozone. strangely enough ONLY from the heatsink. not the CPU itself. and of course, any further attempts to turn it on have resulted in no display and no beeps. the power flows to the CPU fan, and the power light (iirc). So, i seriously hope it's not a actual death, but something easily remedied....

So, if you guys can suggest any way to resurrect it, i'd be much appreciative.
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2009, 05:33 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Try removing the CPU and check that none of the tiny holes is blocked with dirt same with RAM slots video slots etc. Sorry your return to computing involved a crash landing. Also try removing the battery and to reset the BIOS. Good Luck!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2009, 06:06 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Is it one long beep, or one long and two shorts?

On the AMI BIOS, one long is usually a RAM problem, where one long and two shorts is usually a video problem.

I'd try Daniel's suggestion of resetting the CMOS, as a borked CMOS COULD cause the BIOS to try using invalid settings for either the video or the RAM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2009, 06:17 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

it had been one continuous beep for the minute or so that it had been turned on while i was confirming all cables were plugged in.
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2009, 07:18 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Try the CMOS reset. Also make double-darned-sure that you've got the RAM seated properly. I BELIEVE that mobo will run with just one stick of RAM so you might try that (I can't recall if you are running multiple sticks or not) and see if you can isolate which stick is causing the problem.

You MIGHT have borked your mobo. Make sure there's not some stray conductive dust that got onto the mobo when you were blowing out heatsinks and cleaning stuff.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2009, 12:48 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

there was no crud in either the CPU's port, nor the ram holders, and i tried every combination of the ram's positioning. Tis dead even though power flows to all devices, ie the CPU Fan, the harddrive and the DVD drive. :/ How can ye tell if it's a confirmed dead Mobo or if it's the CPU?
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2009, 01:40 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

RMA the board unless you have another CPU to test with...? (If you can RMA it ?)
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 13th November, 2009 at 01:40 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2009, 11:39 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Does it do the same thing with the ram removed?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2009, 01:17 AM
captaincurran's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,074
Send a message via AIM to captaincurran Send a message via MSN to captaincurran Send a message via Yahoo to captaincurran Send a message via Skype™ to captaincurran

it has the same effect with the ram out, ram in, 1 ram in (either slot), etc. :/

and i don't think i can return/exchange the mobo, i bought it early last year. and no longer have the box or reciept from where i got it
__________________
Running as my rigs:
AOA Team fah
rot yittmey ghom Hoch
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2009, 02:00 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

All the symptoms you've described was exactly what the mobo in my old system did when it was dead.
I would say with 100% assurance that it is DEAD!

Now's the time to finally get away totally from the old tech & upgrade to the new.
If you want to still get the old system up & running just get a board that's good enough to get it running again & move on & keep it as a backup system like I did.

My new system is soooooooooooooooooo much faster than the old one was & I now hate using it at all & haven't since moving up & on...
(Example: Full image backup takes 3 minutes as compared to 30 minutes)
Not to mention since the new i Core series have come out prices have drastically gone down on the Core 2 series
CPU's, mobos & DDR2 memory! (Example: A new E8400 Wolfy that does 4Ghz easy is now $167!)

I think on my next upgrade (x58 system) I'd do this all over again & keep my current faster system as my backup & give my old system away to a family member.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 16th November, 2009 at 02:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2009, 08:00 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

When you run out of friends and family...Local Libraries are happy to have them!":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 16th November, 2009 at 08:00 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2009, 12:51 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

All I can think of is swapping the Memory with some extra Memory. I'm sure you don't have an extra CPU sitting around...
Did you ever find out (in the manual) what the single beep means?
Do you think it shorted out or overheated?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dead motherboard , long beep



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handset sized solar cell danrok Mobile Devices and Networking 8 6th November, 2009 07:07 PM
Plug-sized PCs arrive in UK danrok General Hardware Discussion 4 30th June, 2009 10:33 PM
Klingon. captaincurran Random Nonsense! 9 12th July, 2007 09:17 PM
Mid sized power supply recomendation videobruce General Hardware Discussion 4 14th February, 2007 03:22 AM
print large A3 sized calendars using my photos,works wonders. nakita.nakita Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 1 9th October, 2004 12:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0