AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2009, 12:46 AM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Angry Epson R340 - dead?

Hi

I have an Epson Stylus Photo R340 sat in front of me; with message
"A printer error occured. Please see your manual."

Search around net has lead to me swabbing the ink pads to try to get a quick/even temporary fix will do; resetting printer etc and installed SSC Service Utility.

Anyone got experience with this? Rather put off buying a replacement printer until the new year if possible, but will suck it up if I have to.

ideas?

Cheers

** Apologies if this should be in other hardware. stessy at mo
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb

Last edited by kellamne; 18th November, 2009 at 12:49 AM. Reason: **
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2009, 01:49 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I take it you didn't have any joy then. What happens when you power it up? Does the head move at all? It might be that the head encoder (which monitors where the head is) has got dirt/ink in it, and thus isn't picking up the optical strip properly.

There should be a long grey looking strip that runs from one side of the carriage to the other. If you look closely, you should be able to see faint lines on it. That's the encoder strip. There should also be a little device that contains an LED and a photodiode that sits on either side of the encoder strip, and is attached to the printhead - or something like that at least.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2009, 11:50 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Let us know.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2009, 10:59 AM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Nope - no luck yet. Had another play last night.

Power on is fine.
Heads/printer ink caddy move smoothly and automatically along their rail.
What i assume is a data ribbon appears to be undamaged.

Not quite at the point of giving up yet. Will get a screw driver back out again later and strip it properly to see if I see anything hidden.

Annoying but back to work Monday; so worse case I'll print at work and replace my home printer in the new year (sales hopefully). Had a good few years use of it anyway.
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2009, 05:22 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Ok, if the head assembly moves smoothly, then the encoder is definitely working properly and communicating with the control logic.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
epson printer , print error



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epson EMP-TW700 HD projector reviewed danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 31st March, 2007 08:19 PM
Will an Epson CX11N work with Ubuntu Linux? Staz OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 11th December, 2006 03:07 AM
Dead NF7 or PSU? Lazgoat CRASHED! 19 14th April, 2005 09:47 PM
Epson 1280 Installation Tip BrianG 64 Bit computing 2 21st May, 2004 09:12 AM
Dead PSU? gryphyn General Hardware Discussion 0 24th January, 2003 07:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0