AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2009, 07:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 3

Angry Blue screen of death

I've been getting blue screens of death a lot since I got my computer back in '07. I have pictures of some of the screens but I cannot post it here. The technical information is as follows:

STOP: 0x00000116 (0x87c7e510, 0x8fcce1a0, 0x00000000, 0x00000002)
nvlddmkm.sys - address 8fcce1a0 base at 8fc0f000, date stamp 4abfffg

That's just one of the info's I got from one of my three pics that I have.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2009, 08:10 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Please post your specs: CPU, Motherboard, Memory, Video Cards, Hard Drive, etc.
Someone should be able to point you in the right direction.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2009, 12:50 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Make sure to reply to this post instead of posting again Kyle.

Here are his specs:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme Quad-Core
Motherboard: ASUS P5N-E SLI
RAM: Corsair 4 GB (2GB x2) DDR2-800 PC6400
Graphics card: 2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB w/DVI + TV Out Video
HHD: 1TB (500GB x2)
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32-Bit
I hope this is all the info that is needed, if not, reply and let me know if more is needed

Also, explain what steps you have taken to resolve the problem...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2009, 01:02 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

What PSU do you have?
At or near the top of the screen do the BSOD's state IRQ_IS_NOT_EQUAL_OR_LESS_THAN ......

That error looks like something to do with an nVidia driver.
- that will need removing by uninstalling and using driver cleaner or similar, then reinstalling the driver.

Also if your PSU isn't up to it, you most definitely will be having that and more.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2009, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2009
Posts: 1

I'm helping a friend with her MacBook, dunno if the model number helps, but, it's A1181, no OS installed as of yet, I want to get into the bios, does anybody know the hotkey for it? She's tried all the F keys and no go...help please
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2009, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Mac uses EFI, so no real bios. If you need to boot a CD to install an OS, then you can use Command-Option-O-F at startup to bring up a prompt.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2009, 03:00 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by phospagla View Post
I'm helping a friend with her MacBook, dunno if the model number helps, but, it's A1181, no OS installed as of yet, I want to get into the bios, does anybody know the hotkey for it? She's tried all the F keys and no go...help please
You could try posting in the thread that you cut and pasted...instead of hijacking someone else's:

MacBook Question

You're right, Cliff...I should be more "nurturing"...
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 23rd December, 2009 at 03:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2009, 07:24 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Spank me oh master for spamming this cute thread !!!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2009, 03:17 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard View Post
Spank me oh master for spamming this cute thread !!!
So that was you, eh, Bard?

You have far too much time on yer hands den...
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2009, 09:27 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

This thread is confusing. Help me Mr Wizard? Nah, that never works.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2009, 09:43 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
So that was you, eh, Bard?

You have far too much time on yer hands den...
Well if you mean that I posted under a different nick thats a no. I was just pushing your buttons a bit !

PS I love RD he's such a fine gentleman !!!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2009, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 3

Psu

PSU is 600 Watt SLI Ready
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2009, 04:56 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Lots of information around the net on that error and similar ones in nvlddmkm.sys.

Most of them point to re-installing the driver as a starting point to troubleshooting. What driver and OS are you on?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2009, 11:42 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by KJP316 View Post
PSU is 600 Watt SLI Ready
Need to know what make and model - there are 600W and 600W PSU's.

A generic could all be on the 5V line, and only 'SLi Ready' due to the connections. Also that could be rated to 20C and only a 250W PSU at a real operating temp of ~50C
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2009, 05:49 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

good call Noob. So are you saying the PSU may not be SLI certified?
He purchased the whole computer pre-built from a company. The Power Supply has two 6 pin PCI-E conectors too.
Why would they build a system with SLI and not have a certified Power Supply?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2009, 10:00 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

2 reasons:
  1. Because they are cheap, and figure that by the time it becomes a problem, whatever warranty they gave on the system will have expired anyway.
  2. Because they are clueless.

IMO, it's about a 50/50 shot as to which is more likely....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2009, 07:47 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo View Post
2 reasons:
  1. Because they are cheap, and figure that by the time it becomes a problem, whatever warranty they gave on the system will have expired anyway.
  2. Because they are clueless.

IMO, it's about a 50/50 shot as to which is more likely....
I'll definitely second this.

This is probably my biggest beef. You get someone willing to spend upwards of $3k on a PC yet only wants to spend ~$40 on a PSU. Its like buying a Ferrari and sticking unleaded 91 in it. While its going to go for a while, its not good and it will crap out, probably taking things with it. OEM's and prebuilt machines are typically the worst at this.

SLi ready and SLi certified are 2 very different things. SLi ready just means it has 2 6pin connectors. SLi certified means it has met some sort of standard - which IMHO is a design and quality standard which any PSU should meet at least the quality part of. Any decent branded PSU far surpasses the quality aspect. Any PSU which passes the tests
Jonny gives at JonnyGURU.com - Antec Truepower Quattro 1200W Review far surpasses just about any quality standard anyone can name.

Probably 90% of all computer problems I deal with are PSU related.

I could probably build myself a 600W rated PSU for about $20 in used parts, and it would be at least as good as any $40 no name PSU.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2009, 09:43 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I got it... So he needs to see if his Power Supply is SLI CERTIFIED.
I'll ask him to check. He could buy a new one and see if it still has the blue screen problem.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2009, 09:41 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

I would say that, and remove the nVidia drivers using something like driver cleaner, and reinstalling them fresh - while a brilliant idea you wouldn't believe the problems driver rollback in windows causes with nVidia and ATi drivers

Sorry if I sounded like I was beating a dead cat, but its something that rubs me wrong - especially after dealing with a co-irker who for the past 3 months has been harping on about computer problems - caused by his cheapest comes in case PSU money can buy.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2010, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 3

I don't see a brand name on it. Is it at a specific location?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bsod



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue screen of death!! Aka Physical mem dump Daston OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 13th June, 2006 05:21 PM
Blue Screen Of Death???!!! $@L!M CRASHED! 2 19th April, 2006 10:18 AM
8rda+ OC causes blue screen of death Hom3r EPoX MotherBoards 6 14th October, 2003 03:20 PM
Too hot --> blue screen of death :( Cacker EPoX MotherBoards 9 13th August, 2003 01:05 AM
Blue Screen Of Death on XP shutdown - suggestions? superally OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 6 2nd July, 2002 05:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0