AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2002, 08:18 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

i BUSTED it :(

teh gods of overclocking finally caught up with me!

and this was a STOOPID thing i did!!!

on one of my old cards, a Radeon LE 32Mb DDR ...

i busted off one of those round silver caps.

can anyone help me ID the part, cuz i could probly solder a new one on, but i am not even sure what it is...


i'll attach a pic...

see the silver/black "Cap" between the RAM??

the numbers read 100 / 16s / op7

it has a black plastic "base" or mount..

i'd love to fix this, if i could just ID this part
Attached Thumbnails
i BUSTED it :(-14-102-225-01.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2002, 08:29 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

heres me pointing :P

help me out if ya can please, i never seen these things at radioshack
Attached Thumbnails
i BUSTED it :(-atitehsuck.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2002, 10:50 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I'm pretty far out of the electronics loop nowadays, but you'll probably not find these in a radio shack store (unless they use them in one of their remote control cars )....

You'lll have to find a good electronics store locally and just bring them the mosfit (I think that's what you broke...) and have them match it up for you...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2002, 11:34 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

It's a surface mount capacitor...

Probably 100uF, rated 16V. It's used for "decoupling" in as much as an electrolytic can be. Soldering them isn't quite so easy. If you can't get hold of a surface mount one, then an axial one will do, and you can solder the legs onto the pads on the board.

Just ensure that it's connected the correct way around, as connecting them the wrong way around tends to lead to small explosions.


(It might not actually be that crucial, depending on the design of the board...)

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2002, 11:43 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

If you wanted to make the soildering easier- take a few short leads of wires and extend the connections off the board and then soilder the capacitor to the wires-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2002, 04:35 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII
It's a surface mount capacitor...


Just ensure that it's connected the correct way around, as connecting them the wrong way around tends to lead to small explosions.


(It might not actually be that crucial, depending on the design of the board...)

AidanII
HAHA yeah it does, or they just pop then smoke like crazy!!!
And yes I've seen this done.

Aidan is right you should be able to get a 100 uf (micro furad capacitor) and install that.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
15 Tech Myths: Busted and Confirmed danrok Random Nonsense! 1 17th May, 2007 10:09 PM
The Phantom-Necro Busted by AOA Staff danrok Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 20 19th May, 2005 10:37 PM
Is one module of my pc3200 EL gold VX busted?! Wolf2000me CRASHED! 3 18th February, 2005 07:16 PM
Word's biggest spammer busted danrok Random Nonsense! 3 23rd July, 2004 09:46 PM
Hep with busted mosfet on Epox 8RDA+ !!! mata2974 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 18th August, 2003 07:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0