AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2002, 02:08 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Unhappy Bad Mobo???

Let me start with my conclusion... Bad Mobo.. Abit VT6x4 slot 1.

Here's why... Was running cel2 - 566 @850 for 18 months. All of a sudden, I got a corrupt OS... reinstalled xp but no go. As soon as I clocked it down to stock, it worked. OK, me thinks the CPU is tired and won't oc no mo, sux but ok. ('bout a month ago).

Last week, even at stock, it locked up. Tried reinstalling os, no go. I happen to have a twin system. Took 'bad' cpu, and stuck it in good system... Well wadayano. It works fine at 892!!!

Took 'good' system CPU (also 566@850) and popped into bad system. doesn't get past system info. Locks with cursor in spot where it should say "starting 'OS'"

OK, I try running stock. Starts to load os, but locks up.

Tried replacing ram, same exact results, clocked and stock.
Tried replacing PSU to 350W HEC (overkill), same exact results.

Makes me wonder what's wrong?
Controller.... Power regulation on mobo.... ???

Any thoughts? I don't have special tools to check voltage.... And I don't want to waste money on a celeron mobo if I can avoid it...

Edit: Strange thing is, when overclocked to 100FSB, it hangs where it should be saying starting windows. When running 66FSB, it tries to load the OS, but eventually hangs. This is with every variation of CPU, PSU, Memory. Even tried slow memory timings and 'FSB - PCI'. All give the same 2 results.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 1st May, 2002 at 02:46 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2002, 04:29 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

could be the voltage regulator going wacky. I've come to that conclusion before... replaced mobo no problemo.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2002, 04:46 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Something smells, it must be the motherboard.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2002, 05:20 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Motherboard OR processor- i have fried a few celerons :-P
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2002, 03:33 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Thanks guys,
I'll start hunting down an old board to bring this back to life, it's a PITA... At least I'm only losing 20 points a week folding.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2002, 04:44 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Did you try moving the HD to the other IDE channel? Perhaps one of your IDE connectors are shot.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2002, 06:25 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
Did you try moving the HD to the other IDE channel? Perhaps one of your IDE connectors are shot.
Actually, that's worth a shot. I'll take my main rig offline to yank the PCI ATA100 card off of it... Maybe I can boot off it on the suspect mobo.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st May, 2002, 11:55 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

No dice. The ATA card bios recognises the HDD, goes back to the regular bios display screen with all devices... and locks up again at the same spot.

Thanks for the idea tho Mook.
I think its time to go dumpster diving for mobo's.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad mobo? djXternal CRASHED! 4 30th January, 2006 09:07 PM
mobo?...Mobo!...MOOOBOOOO!? Logan Intel Motherboards & CPUs 8 16th December, 2005 01:37 AM
Is it the mobo thewomble CRASHED! 1 3rd July, 2005 01:26 AM
I need a new mobo Howard Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 26th February, 2003 01:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0