AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 03:26 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

When playing games monitor switches off followed by crash... GPU @101C

Hey guys,

I've been lurking for a long time and need a bit of help with my pc.

i have not really been playing many games recently but managed to get myself addicted to Civilisation V. However occasionally part way through playing, my monitor would switch off and about 5-10 seconds later my system would completely hang (sound would stop working). After the tenth crash I decided to move onto another game; spider man shattered dimensions, which also causes the exact same problem only more often. MW2 never caused any such issues.

I believe that the problem is caused by my GPU overheating. I monitored it with speedfan whilst running 3Dmark and noticed temperatures above 100C.

Any suggestions on what I should do?

My specs: Result
i5@3.5Ghz and GTX250 @stock
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 03:36 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

100C is too hot for any extended periods of time. What kind of cooling are you using on the GPU, and is it working properly? How fast is the fan running? If it's not running at 100% at that temperature, that is almost certainly the cause of your problem. You can use a program like Precision or Afterburner to regulate the fan speed.

You should also take out the card and clean out the cooling elements. Often they get clogged up with dust and can't cool effectively any more.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 26th January, 2011 at 03:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 05:53 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

I have underfloor heating that was adding to the heating on my system. I have moved it to the window and seen the temperature drop to 90C.

The tools you recommended seem to belong to brands, will they work on a generic card?
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 06:24 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Dude, you DO realize that 100C is BOILING for WATER, right?! That's WAY too damned hot for anything to be running reliably.

I've got a LAPTOP that only gets to about 60C on the GPU (GeForce Quadro FX 2800M), and everyone knows that lappys run hotter than desktop systems. CPU runs a little hotter, but when anything gets up to 70C, I open the case and blow the dust out.

For a desktop system, IMO if you are getting above 60C on ANYTHING at standard clocks, you need to look into better cooling. If you are going to OC, you need to get the temps down ever further or things will be unstable.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 06:34 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

hehe , well after cleaning everything out as best i could with a vacuum i managed to drop a further 30C on the gfx card making it bang on 60C on stress and 40C idle.

My cpu temps are quite low around 40C idle. (they use to be 90C idle before i got my Arctic cooling in there.

Thanks for the help guys.
Going to test spiderman out again.
Attached Thumbnails
When playing games monitor switches off followed by crash... GPU @101C-img_0808.jpg   When playing games monitor switches off followed by crash... GPU @101C-img_0804.jpg  
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit

Last edited by IceRaptor; 26th January, 2011 at 06:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2011, 07:56 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

just be playing and no crashes yet so im assuming that alls good.
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2011, 10:13 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Well done, you solved the problem!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2011, 05:49 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Glad your GPU stopped overheating. I hope its not permanently damaged.
My GeForce 7900 GTO at work overheated and would result in artifacts on the screen. It was happening for a long time and I didn't even know it was due to the over heating.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2011, 04:19 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

From what I gather if it boots, it's unlikely to be damaged in any way...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2011, 12:23 AM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

Yeh everything works really well, games run superb.

However my old computer (the one listed in my sig) just stopped working today

Computer powers on
GPU fan does not spin at all
monitor does not turn on due to no signal received
CPU fan spins and stops intermittently
case fan does the same.
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit

Last edited by IceRaptor; 12th March, 2011 at 12:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2011, 07:51 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Oh noes! Any luck with the diagnosis?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2011, 04:22 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceRaptor View Post
However my old computer (the one listed in my sig) just stopped working today
Computer powers on
GPU fan does not spin at all
monitor does not turn on due to no signal received
CPU fan spins and stops intermittently
case fan does the same.
check ALL power/powered connections, make sure ALL cards are inserted completely.
after that, test the power supply. if you have a spare psu, swap them.
then there is ram, cpu or bad/dead add on card. I think I've had the all at one time or another.

good luck and let us know what you find,

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2011, 02:41 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Maybe a power supply issue...
I have seen Bad Memory have symptoms like that, but I'm leaning more toward the PS.
Do you have a spare to swap?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackers Not Playing Games With Gaming Sites Daniel ~ Data Security 0 12th March, 2010 08:06 PM
In games, brains work differently when playing vs. a human danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 1 5th February, 2009 08:27 PM
HELP !!! system hang while playing direct 3d games. Shadowlite CRASHED! 3 20th January, 2005 06:32 PM
nv4_disp.dll errors while playing 3d games hamza Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 21st August, 2002 02:32 PM
EP-7KXA Screen Jumps When Playing Games pat EPoX MotherBoards 1 14th July, 2002 10:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0