AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2002, 02:06 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

brooktrout tr114 fax card and FaxRush...HELP!!!

I am trying to install a brooktrout tr144 +2 fax card and when I load the faxrush driver utility it hogs the I/O address for the card and causes a conflict with the card they are supposed to be written for!! anyone know whats up with this thing?? TIA!!

oh ya, specs are

k7s5a
t-1.4
512 sam. DDr
adaptec 19160
s3 trio64 PCI , no AGP driver loaded
sparkle 300w PSU (my fav for the K7s5a)
ibm utrastar 18g/10k


I have tried it on 2k server and pro , XP and win 98, and they all gimm ethe same error, I would force the driver, but they are in a .cab file I cant find any way to open..
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2002, 08:24 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

My word - it does look like the doctor is dabbling with the quacks again!

Talk to Brooktrout! When you start to get into this kinda strange hardware, all sorts of strangeness ensues. Good luck, and sorry I cannae offer a silver bullet.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2002, 07:27 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

this thing is the giggest POS.. and they dont even offer a driver, they want you to get it from the software vendor, I am still messin with this beast amazing what junk you can buy with a couple thousand dollars
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2002, 11:23 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yup, that's right - the sales of those things is small enough that specialist knowledge is pretty hard to come by..

Last time I did anything telephony, it was Dialogic 4port analog cards, and Dialogic cards with 2/4 E1 interfaces. They were fun...


AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2002, 03:20 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

well it looks like the hardware is workin OK,, so the boss says I get to let the integrators worry about the driver install (since the drivers go in with the software load !! :nervous:
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2002, 07:54 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Now, that's just plain cheating. Is that what you'd do if it were your own rig?

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2002, 02:32 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

no... but it turns out they were trying to use the wrong driver, and it was workin the whole time, darn funky peice of hardware... doesn't use the windows API or nothin.....
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserting memory card causes USB card reader to get removed videobruce General Hardware Discussion 2 6th November, 2006 03:26 PM
SLI in one card Samuknow Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 29th June, 2006 10:41 PM
Via USB 2.0 PCI card. devilmyarse General Hardware Discussion 6 1st January, 2006 07:45 PM
Which PCI-e card?? Abdul Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 15 23rd June, 2005 05:54 PM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0