AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2002, 01:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Darkcobra

Angry can't find windows file, can't load windows

ok, lately my computer has been giving me problems. don't you hate that. i recently built a new pentium 4 1.6a system for my girlfriend. however, i went to boot it up and now the computer goes straight to the bios without me clicking any button to bring it to that menu. after i leave the bios it posts (without showing my the speed to the cpu, don't know what's up with that?) and then it gives me this message: "windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: c:\windows\system32\config\system." what gives? my system has windows xp home, 60GB desktop 120 gxp ibm hdd, pioneer 16x dvd rom, 256MB samsung 2700 DDr, and 350 watt enermax psu. anybody have any ideas how i can fix this or do i have to go straight to "format c:" thanks guys.
__________________
athlon t-bird 1.4ghz-epox 8kha-TTake Volcano 7+ -Gainward 4200 128MB @260/520-ibm 60gxp 40GB+120gxp 40GB-crucial 512MB DDR cas 2-TDK 24/10/40-lian li PC-68-viewsonic GS790 19"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2002, 01:56 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Sounds like your motherboard has an issue if it goes right into bios- Was it working before? Win XP home is VERY bad and unstable- I would re format-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2002, 04:01 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Seen a similar issue when I get a corruption from overclocking. I have no easy answer, errors that early on in the windows boot are also sometimes boot.ini configuration issues where the operating system boot file can't see windows in the spot it thought it was....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2002, 07:41 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Seen that when you get bad sectors or corruption on the drive. XP has that recovery console thing that will reinstall the system files. Use the windows disk like your going to reinstall and at a certain point it will ask if you want to repair the copy of windows.

Whether you opt for recovery console or fresh install, there is still a core problem you need to resolve. I think I saw you post somewhere about this rig using an Asus mobo? If so and your trying to push the cpu too far where the mobo can't initialize it will eventually recover itself and boot at default speed going straight into bios. Usually it will highlight the cpu speed and off to the right in red letters will give some sort of message saying it was not able to boot on the last attempt.

Something like will usually happen when your trying to boot at say 2.4Ghz (hypothetically speaking) and your cpu needs 1.7V to initialize but the board only supplies 1.5V. Even though you have the bios set to 1.7V it still only initializes at 1.5V. Once in the bios the board is then at 1.7V that you have it set to, so when you leave the bios it will warm reboot at 1.7V allowing your overclock to succeed.

There are ways around this to allow the board to initialize at a higher voltage from a cold boot. One being the wire trick and the other being dependent on the mobo, some such as the Asus P4B266 has an overvolt jumper which will start the board at 1.7V if you wish.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 07:43 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Glad to have you S_Wilson.
We need guys like you.
So do you fold for us yet?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 08:43 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
Glad to have you S_Wilson.
We need guys like you.
So do you fold for us yet?
Rob
And S_Wilson, can you get away for the AOA gathering in July? See the topic at the bottom of the main forum page for details":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 09:11 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
Glad to have you S_Wilson.
We need guys like you.
So do you fold for us yet?
Rob
Thanks Rob. Of course I fold for AOA, I transitioned earlier this month but I have been saddled with those p127 and p128's for about the last week so it has cut my production by 2/3 or so . I griped about that in the folding area the other day.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 09:21 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
And S_Wilson, can you get away for the AOA gathering in July? See the topic at the bottom of the main forum page for details":O}
I have been following the thread Daniel, sounds like it would be a great time and I would really like to but don't know yet. It's not to bad of a drive from Western Colorado but trying to take vacation is difficult . Put me on the possible list.

Shawn
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 10:05 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Quote:
Originally posted by S_Wilson


I have been following the thread Daniel, sounds like it would be a great time and I would really like to but don't know yet. It's not to bad of a drive from Western Colorado but trying to take vacation is difficult . Put me on the possible list.

Shawn
My pleasure, where there's hope there's life! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System wont load windows... jimbobaggies CRASHED! 15 28th June, 2005 03:52 PM
MSI K8N rebooting!!! Need major help. No windows load ffactoryxx CRASHED! 5 21st October, 2004 10:08 AM
L7S7A2 won't load windows. Dloader1 CRASHED! 10 19th March, 2004 05:49 AM
Installed new fan, now windows wont load? RickBaker CRASHED! 6 6th October, 2003 12:34 AM
need to find windows 98 startup disk to download now! Uncle Bob OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 8 15th July, 2002 11:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0