AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2001, 10:57 PM
Betty's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,668
Send a message via ICQ to Betty Send a message via MSN to Betty

Posting for one800tnt...

He managed to cry for help and asked for this to be posted here:
Quote:
my W2K system went down..had been running fine then all of a sudden started crashing. now it wont boot (W2K)
I think it may be Nimda
what are its symptoms?
I had wierd registry errors and blue screens before it finnaly gave up.

I am now trying to install XP over the top of it..I have too much data to format.
damn....can't remember his system specs....I'll hunt them down...
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming... Boy, What a ride!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2001, 11:25 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Possible, Nimba just killed my W2K server one day, to the degree I installed XP Po', bought a router, and even installed ZA for added worm security.

Mine didn't give me registry errors, it would get to the splash scree, then initialize windows, and reboot. No matter what I did it kept rebooting at that spot.

Symptoms were *.eml files all over my IIS share folders.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 12:08 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Re: Posting for one800tnt...

For compleate instructions go to:
Noton http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/ven...oval.tool.html

W32.Nimda.A@mm Removal Tool
Last Updated on: October 9, 2001 at 04:38:16 PM PDT

What the tool does
The W32.Nimda.A@mm fixtool will perform the following steps:

1. Terminates all processes associated with the virus.
2. Terminates Explorer.exe process and relaunches it. The virus injects itself into Explorer.exe which makes this step necessary. Because of this, you may see the desktop flash (this is expected behavior).
3. Detects all types of W32.Nimda.A@mm infections. Repairs those files that can be repaired. Deletes .eml, .nws, .doc and .txt files that have been detected as infected.

NOTE: The tool will not delete .eml files in cases where the extension is not one of the four mentioned above. For example, a file with the double extension .eml.bad will not be deleted. You must manually delete such files.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 09:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to one800tnt

I'm on my roomies computer cause he aint here.
system is stiill messed..XP wont install either

I think I am going to take the fdrive to a friends...dump the data onto one of his drives and do a fdisk....then reinstall W2K AS or XP probably AS.

as for Nimda...can it infect an Outlook .pst file? if so how do you remove it from there?...does it always show up as an attachment? or is that not the case with Nimda?

Abit KG7-RAID...Athlon 1.4 256MB DDR Crucial
__________________
Peace...Through superior firepower
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to one800tnt

Oh and where can I get ZA? also ghost would bbe nice...need something to save my butt next time
__________________
Peace...Through superior firepower
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 09:30 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Ghost come packaged with Norton Utilities, as well as Norton Anti-Virus, which detects this viruse and prevents it from infecting your machine, Well worth the money!
Compleat run down on the big "N" is on the Norton site I linked to in first post.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 06:08 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

You get zonealarm here.

Ghost you have to pay for, but you shouldn't need it if you're behind a router and ZA, or use viruscan and automatically allow it to update.

I used to ghost everything, but gave up once I got the router and nothing I don't want to get in does.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 11:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to one800tnt

XP Pro or W2K Adv Server and why?

Thanx
__________________
Peace...Through superior firepower
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Before posting try this first! MONKEYMAN CRASHED! 27 18th October, 2010 10:33 PM
posting Phiber Random Nonsense! 8 29th May, 2007 06:00 AM
Not posting Daston CRASHED! 10 14th March, 2007 11:03 PM
HDD not posting on P5W DH, Please Help! brent1a Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 27th January, 2007 05:55 AM
Well...I'm posting this from... Logan OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 9 21st April, 2005 09:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0