AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 05:07 AM
stompah's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to stompah

Loveletter virus and Kazaa

Well I just received my first virus ever!

below is the error message. Everytime I click 'OK" or close it pops up another window same message comes up only it says access denied. I cannot delete this file.

I have tried using Norton to fix this problem but I have had no luck yet. I have also updated Norton.
Attached Thumbnails
Loveletter virus and Kazaa-errorll1.jpg  
__________________
1700+ @ 2307MHz 1.70v and some other schtuff

fsb is all that matters. fsb = life - SimJoe [H]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 05:11 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

I believe McAfee offers a service that works well for these kinds of things. The catch though, is you have to pay them. If you can't find any other solution and formatting your HD is not an option, you might want to give McAfee a try.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 05:12 AM
stompah's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to stompah

I have just quarantined the file. but i would like to know how to remove this file from my system.


Thanx for all your help in advance!
__________________
1700+ @ 2307MHz 1.70v and some other schtuff

fsb is all that matters. fsb = life - SimJoe [H]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 05:14 AM
stompah's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to stompah

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
I believe McAfee offers a service that works well for these kinds of things. The catch though, is you have to pay them. If you can't find any other solution and formatting your HD is not an option, you might want to give McAfee a try.
Are you sure I have to pay them? But shouldnt Norton anti virus be able to erase this file from my life? Dammit I payed for Norton for nothing.

thanx
__________________
1700+ @ 2307MHz 1.70v and some other schtuff

fsb is all that matters. fsb = life - SimJoe [H]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 07:25 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'm pretty sure there are some FREE online scanners. Though I have never found them.

Maybe I should look?
I run Mcaffee.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 09:35 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Quote:
Originally posted by stompah
I have just quarantined the file. but i would like to know how to remove this file from my system.


Thanx for all your help in advance!
What OS file system are you using, Fat 32 or NTFS? If Fat 32, boot into dos and navigate to the file and delete it. Make sure you turn off system restore if you are using an OS that has it. I assume you know dos but if not just ask. If your using NTFS then try safemode but that doesn't always work.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 09:38 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Quote:
Originally posted by stompah


Are you sure I have to pay them? But shouldnt Norton anti virus be able to erase this file from my life? Dammit I payed for Norton for nothing.

thanx
Virus writers, unfortunately, are getting smarter and their programs are sometimes able to defeat antivirus programs or avoid detection altogether. Norton seems to have the worst problem with this. I'm with Mookydooky on the Macafee av, I've been very pleased with it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 04:10 PM
stompah's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to stompah

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=&threadid=788

Now I am down to 511MB... problem solved I will burn all the Kazaa files that arent infected. Then I will use my 40g drive for basic stuff and use my 2 30g drives for MP3s
__________________
1700+ @ 2307MHz 1.70v and some other schtuff

fsb is all that matters. fsb = life - SimJoe [H]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 04:43 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

I learned my lesson about Kazaa a while back. Never again will it go on any of my machines.
I d/l what was supposed to be an mp3 file that was in reality an .exe with a lovely Trojan attached. When I tried to delete it, it respawned into 4 versions, all different names of the same virus. Ended up having to isolate in DOS and using DelTree to kill it.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on ME.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 05:37 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

So is this before or after you installed ZA, Southern Man?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 06:05 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

so how did the .EXE get executed?

you mean winamp or windows media player actually opened an .EXE??

i've never had a virus, cuz i don't click .EXE's

D/L'd a ton of MP3's and MPEG's etc... never had a prob tho
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 08:23 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
I'm pretty sure there are some FREE online scanners. Though I have never found them.

Maybe I should look?
I run Mcaffee.
Rob

Freefullness.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 08:46 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Good on you, eobard! Grisoft's AV seemed to work well for me. Also, Trend PC-Cillin will do a real time scan o' yer box for ya, gratis.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 10:04 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Re: Loveletter virus and Kazaa

Quote:
Originally posted by stompah
Well I just received my first virus ever!
below is the error message. Everytime I click 'OK" or close it pops up another window same message comes up only it says access denied. I cannot delete this file.

My guess here. Looks like the file was one that Kazaa was still working with, when Norton picked up the virus. As Kazaa still had the file open, you couldn't delete it.

Moral of the story: Don't download ANY executable content. No .exe, no .com, no .vbs, no .scr, no .dll and so on!

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th May, 2002, 02:02 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Only once had I mistakenly downloaded a PITA virus with winmx... it's clean, fast, and friendly...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th May, 2002, 03:17 AM
stompah's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to stompah

Re: Re: Loveletter virus and Kazaa

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII



My guess here. Looks like the file was one that Kazaa was still working with, when Norton picked up the virus. As Kazaa still had the file open, you couldn't delete it.

Moral of the story: Don't download ANY executable content. No .exe, no .com, no .vbs, no .scr, no .dll and so on!

AidanII
I tried the cirus scan without Kazaa on. no luck

I received a second virus hehe I just had it isolated.

Thanx eobard.
__________________
1700+ @ 2307MHz 1.70v and some other schtuff

fsb is all that matters. fsb = life - SimJoe [H]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virus? bradmax57 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 10 7th August, 2004 05:47 PM
Virus Help ! way2slo Data Security 2 30th April, 2003 09:48 PM
kazaa lite lag loop Mobile Devices and Networking 5 15th December, 2002 08:50 PM
Another virus Uncle Bob Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 7 29th June, 2002 03:55 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0