AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2002, 10:17 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

PIII 800 Resting-

Im sitting here during 6th period- not in class- trying to find out why this pIII 800 keeps reseting- any help?
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 12:54 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Cool

After first reading your topic, I wanted to say that all P3's should be put to rest. But, if you mean rebooting, I guess it could be a P/S going bad.


BRUNO :-D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 12:56 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

My P3 used to spontaniously reboot when it overheated.

Give the fan a check over.

Have you changed anything lately (hardware or software)

Bad ram can also cause those sorts of reboots, can you swap for another stick ?

What programs cause it to reset, of is it just random ?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 02:41 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Fan is ok- switched ram- random- and its a schoiol computer and i cant put it to rest..........
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 11:43 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Dude, Spyder, are you saying our school has P3 800MHz? Wow... I thought we Max'd the P3's at a massive 500MHz... (Our school just bought new computers... FOR THE TEACHERS! Celeron 1Ghz.)
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 02:24 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

If its random and its not the memory then id be looking at bad PSU motherboard and CPU in that order.

Swapping out the PSU is easy, swapping the board or CPU will be less so.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 11:21 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

If it froze after i left- i told him to do that :-D iTS hot now- no ac either- so the chips are and alwasys are at like 130f
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2002, 06:19 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Ok........ it runs fine in the server room for 30min- put it back...... and it resets randomly- every 2 min- i pulled the harddrive and put it in my backup and it works fine- BUT the old system needs to be fixed so im getting a new mb and processor to try and fix it.........
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2002, 07:14 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

hmm. sounded like a psu issue, but i would try a hammer if i were you...
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2002, 07:23 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
hmm. sounded like a psu issue, but i would try a hammer if i were you...
PSU and hammer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2002, 03:00 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I got a new mb, ps, cpu ram, video and it works...... :-D
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 04:51 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

The problem was most likely that the outlet was on the same circuit with some ting causeing power problems. AC, flourescent lights... etc. I had that problem with my old K6-2 450 because the Biggass yard light was on the same circuit.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 04:53 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I'm not saying that the PSU didn't also suck... just that it alone would probably not do it.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not resting on laurels, interesting SOI read. cloasters General Hardware Discussion 0 25th September, 2002 06:51 PM
Hey you !ntel broz. Nice PIII folder mobo, Tyan Tiger 200T Dual PIII motherboard Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 0 30th May, 2002 03:21 AM
New PIII Board- The Spyder Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 30th April, 2002 02:18 AM
LC 575 to cel/PIII Speedracer Hardware Hacking 11 27th December, 2001 05:27 PM
PIII 800 going bye bye. pony35th ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 2 20th December, 2001 07:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0