AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2002, 11:26 AM
fearby's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 8

Failed BIOS flash on Epox 4SDA+

It is killed stone dead and when I reboot I get a siren and the LEDS say 02.The cd drive spins and the fans work but that is it.
Is there an way of saving this situation?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2002, 06:50 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, fearby!
Why not ask our resident expert in all things Epox? Two choices up from here in the "forums home" menu.

Let's hope that Epox or its cronies don't charge too much for replacement BIOS chips, if that's your only course of action.

And they ask why I avoid updating BIOS as best I can.
__________________
When the world will be better.

Last edited by cloasters; 21st June, 2002 at 08:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2002, 03:19 AM
jay jay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 58

I you have another working computer (or acess to a buddies) thier is no need to BUY a new BIOS EEPROM.

You can HOT FLASH the dead BIOS EEPROM on the workign computer.

Here is the BASIC Idea

Boot the working computer up with a bootdisk
(after POST no more Volts go through the BIOS EEPROM)
And once the OS is loaded (just to be safe) remove the BIOS EEPROM from the working computer (IC extractors come in handy for this) and insert (ensure you put it in the correct direction) the BAD EEPROM.
Now you can flash the BAD EEPROM and restore it.
Turn off the computer and replace the Original EEPROM and you will have 2 working computers

If it is not the same motherboard you will most likely have to use switches to flash teh EEPROM or grab a 3rd party Flash Utility such as UNIFlash.

This is fairly safe to do as long as you take care when reinserting the BIOS EEPROM with the power on. thier are little notices to note pin 1. Make 100% sure you install the EEPROM correctly.
__________________

null
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2002, 04:22 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Jay has the right idea, but be aware of the risks to the working motherboard as you will have to cleanly pull the good bios chip from the working board, insert the bad one cleanly, flash, then repeat... etc
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2002, 12:09 PM
fearby's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 8

Fixed...............

..Searched this forum and saw a post about someone having problems with a similar flavour.
The problem is due to not having a fan connected directly to the mainboard - mine was running straight from PSU.

Thanks

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2002, 03:13 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

All's well that ends well. Hot flashing BIOS chips is not for the faint of heart--nor for the shaky of hand.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2002, 03:15 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by jay
Boot the working computer up with a bootdisk
(after POST no more Volts go through the BIOS EEPROM)
Hate to point this out, but after POST, the BIOS is still powered, and depending on the settings in the BIOS configuration, may still be accessed by the machine.

If you disabled copy to shadow RAM for the system BIOS, then this will definately be true.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k9a3+ BIOS flash failed *urgent* Brummelchen EPoX MotherBoards 18 26th April, 2003 01:09 AM
failed to flash bios on 4g4a+ pcworks EPoX MotherBoards 7 24th November, 2002 02:35 PM
Failed 4SDA+ BIOS flash - please help fearby EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd June, 2002 12:05 PM
Why No New Bios For The 4SDA+ Epox?? LuckyDaze Intel Motherboards & CPUs 21 3rd April, 2002 05:25 AM
Help 8KHA+ BIOS flash failed..... Shelton EPoX MotherBoards 8 27th December, 2001 11:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0