AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2002, 06:35 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

How do I force flash a BIOS ?

I have busted my BIOS when flashing it and now my machine won't boot anymore, the HDD and all other components do nothing when I power it up.
I have tried flashing my BIOS with hot-swap on another mobo using the same EEPROM type, but it wouldn't work, award flash sayd something like BIOS and system do not match.
Now my question is how do I force flash the BIOS with awardflash or is there another program to do that ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2002, 07:43 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Depends on which mobo you have. I have an EPoX 8KHA+ and if you press ALT-F2 at POST, it will do it.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2002, 10:05 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Coolwater posted this in the below thread
Epox 8k3a+ NO WAY TO FLASH BIOS

Download AWDFLASH and then use this string to kick start the flash.

awdflash8k3a####.bin /cc /cp /cd /R



#### replace with the bios number your trying to flash. Remember to use the spaces as typed above. Also make sure you have the command on the floppy disk. On the A disk you should have,


awdflash
8k3a####.bin
command
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2002, 10:37 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Yep, thanks, but what does the /R switch do ? I haven't seen that in the list of switches displayed when I run awdflash /?

Is that for forcing the flash ?
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2002, 12:25 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Im not sure exactly "hence the quote"

Try it and see.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2002, 08:19 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Easier said than done, hot-swaping is not very safe, 2 times out of 3 my monitor goes out when I pull out my BIOS chip and I have to do everthink blindfolded.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2002, 01:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

Whenever I need to force flash a bios I use /f. I use a dos boot disc an when it loads to A: prompt, I type awdflash 8xxxxxx.bin(space)/f to force the flash an has always worked fine for me. An have hot swap bios chips an reflashed with a different bios without any problems. I just make sure first boot in bios is floppy, with the dos boot disc installed, it reads the boot disc an loads to A: prompt, I pull the bios chip an insert another an reflash away.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2002, 01:42 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I did it already, with WinFlash. That program doesn't even check if it is the right mobo, the perfect tool for force flashing.
Anyway, I will never flash from a floppy again.

PS. The monitor went blank for some strange cause, I think that the screwdriver I used to remove the BIOS chip touched a contact and the display was gone. Weird, now I use a plastic one.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2002, 02:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

Yea the metal screw driver more than likely the problem with removing bios chip with power on. I use 10 lb. monofilament fishing line behind bios chip, pull both ends an chip pops out, then insert new chip.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to flash BIOS from CD WinterX EPoX MotherBoards 3 4th October, 2003 10:43 PM
Flash 8kha+ bios chip with 8rda bios? RyanB18 EPoX MotherBoards 4 20th March, 2003 12:52 AM
Epox Tech - Tried 8k5a2805.bin force flash-> xgman EPoX MotherBoards 8 20th August, 2002 07:17 PM
How do I force flash a BIOS ? Alexandrus EPoX MotherBoards 0 4th July, 2002 06:41 PM
Can't flash the BIOS.... reddeathdrinker EPoX MotherBoards 5 13th June, 2002 12:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0