AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:00 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
The 8K3A+ has a 1/5 divider that kicks in at 160 or there abouts. You can leave the IDE setting at ATA133. All your stuff will run at spec when the 1/5 divider kicks in so there's no need to time anything down. If you get much higher than 166, then you may need to drop the HD timings.

EDIT: I have a 8KHA+ which only has a 1/4 divider and at 166, the HD is WAYYY out of spec and won't take ATA100.
Al right. What should my memory settings be?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:05 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

The Samsung is rated to run at 166 at CAS 2.5. If you overvolt it a little (around 2.8V) then you can run it at turbo timings which is CAS 2, and a bunch of other goodies with 4 bank interleave.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:21 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
The Samsung is rated to run at 166 at CAS 2.5. If you overvolt it a little (around 2.8V) then you can run it at turbo timings which is CAS 2, and a bunch of other goodies with 4 bank interleave.
I'm still green about the EPOX BIOS. Where do I 'overvolt' the memory> I think I remember seeing 4 bank interleave.

Oh, BTW Here is a good article from phlux on unlocking the AROIA. His results:
http://www.phlux.co.uk/images/articles/26/004s.jpg
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Last edited by Uncle Bob; 19th July, 2002 at 01:23 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:23 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

In the BIOS, it's in the same place where you overvolt the CPU. Near the bottom. Give me a few minutes and I'll take a pic.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:28 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Thanks, Mook.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:29 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Shot of the main BIOS screen. Go the "Frequency/Voltage Control"
Attached Thumbnails
Uncle Bob Cries Uncle-img_6005.jpg  
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:30 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

After you enter the "Frequency/Voltage Control" section, you can over volt the VDimm where I put the red.
Attached Thumbnails
Uncle Bob Cries Uncle-img_6006.jpg  
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:30 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Since my board is a 8KHA+, yours might look a little different, but it should be similar enought that you should be able to find it without a problem.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:31 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

If I didn't mention it before, you should start with the CPU overvolted a little to say 1.8V.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 01:39 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

BTW, if you can get your CPU up to 1831Mhz like phlux, your rig will have much better memory bandwidth and thus better performance with memory intensive apps (video encoding, database stuff, spreadsheet stuff). AXP running at 1831Mhz is memory hog and DDR290 is barely enough to keep it fed. To get to 1831, you'll have to run yours at 174 (DDR348) and if you run at turbo timings, you'll have substantially more memory bandwidth than phlux.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 02:20 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Wahoo! I'll try when I awaken from my slumber. I'm bushed. I'll post back here with the results. Thanks so much so far!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 02:41 AM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

I am no expert like the rest of the guys here but I have an idea.
I had an Abit KT7 Raid a long while back. This is before my current A model.
I installed the GeForce 2mmx and what you described happened on some of the first boots. When it worked, some games had problems. That is the reason I now own an ATI Radeon VE as it was the card that would work stable.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 02:41 AM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

Sorry accidently double posted.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 04:28 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
Wahoo! I'll try when I awaken from my slumber. I'm bushed. I'll post back here with the results. Thanks so much so far!
I'm up and running at 1750! We'll see how long it goes! I've attached an image, hope it is uploadable.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp xp wcpuid 166 fsb.bmp (428.3 KB, 54 views)
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 04:31 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
Wahoo! I'll try when I awaken from my slumber. I'm bushed. I'll post back here with the results. Thanks so much so far!
I'm up and running at 1750. Here is an attachment, if it makes it!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 04:33 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

If you're using Paint, choose "Save As." From there, from the "Save as Type" drop down menu, select JPG. Also, I think you forgot to paste because the image you uploaded is blank.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 04:37 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
If you're using Paint, choose "Save As." From there, from the "Save as Type" drop down menu, select JPG. Also, I think you forgot to paste because the image you uploaded is blank.
Yeah, it's running so fast the LCD monitor couldn't capture it! LOL

TRY # 2 I'm up and running at 1750. Here is an attachment, if it makes it!
Attached Thumbnails
Uncle Bob Cries Uncle-xp-wcpuid-166-fsb.jpg  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 04:43 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

It made it this time. Looks good. Now's the fun part. Try going up the ladder step by step to see how high you can take it. You may need to up the Vcore up to 1.9 to get max results. I think you should be able to get into the mid 1800's fairly easy with your board. Since you have the 1/5 PCI divider, you don't have to worry about your PCI devices crapping out on you.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 04:45 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

One thing. In MBM, you don't really need to display the 3.3V line. You do want to display the 5.0V line and the 2.5V line. The 2.5V line is your VDimm.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2002, 04:57 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
It made it this time. Looks good. Now's the fun part. Try going up the ladder step by step to see how high you can take it. You may need to up the Vcore up to 1.9 to get max results. I think you should be able to get into the mid 1800's fairly easy with your board. Since you have the 1/5 PCI divider, you don't have to worry about your PCI devices crapping out on you.
Do I just keep cranking up the FSB?
Should I set my Drives back to 66?
I have memory at TURBO, 2.5, is that right?
You say the die temp is running 20 degrees over, that's F, right?

Lot's of questions, I know. Thanks for your help and attentiveness. This is a GAS!
Attached Thumbnails
Uncle Bob Cries Uncle-untitled.jpg  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where the cathair has Uncle Bob gone to??? Uncle Bob Random Nonsense! 101 15th November, 2003 06:38 PM
Question for Uncle Bob!!! :) HauZDauG AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 31st May, 2003 07:57 PM
Visiting Uncle Sam dod Random Nonsense! 12 18th November, 2002 09:30 AM
Any help Uncle Bob?? The Spyder Random Nonsense! 11 3rd September, 2002 06:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0