AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 02:07 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Need help with multipliers ASAP

I tried to unlock my chip again, same issues as before except now the cpu thinks it's an XP1900 by default (it's really a 1700) and refuses to use anything but a 12X multiplier (supposed to be 11). Yes, I clear the CMOS after every attempt.

I'm assuming something conductive is in one of the bridges, and I've tried my best to clean them with acetone/nail polish remover. The adjacent L3 (think they're L3) bridges appear to have some stuff in them (the bottom of the laser cuts are not black anymore), also tried cleaning them.

The real issue here is that at a 12X multiplier I can't overclock the FSB at all since the CPU runs 1600mhz MAX with max voltage and no other multipliers seem available (tried them all). If I can figure out the L1 sequence for a 12X multiplier I might be able to manually set the multiplier to whatever value I want.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 02:15 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Try using a toothbrush to remove the stuff from the pits. Worked for me. Make sure to let the chip completely dry before sticking it back in the rig.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 02:23 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
Try using a toothbrush to remove the stuff from the pits. Worked for me. Make sure to let the chip completely dry before sticking it back in the rig.
Not a bad idea. Gonna go try that right now!

After doing a little searching I found this chart which convinces me there's something crossed that shouldn't be... :

http://www.overclockers.com/tips1002/multiplier.gif
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 02:44 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

That didn't work.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 03:02 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Here's another guide that's a little easier to read. Maybe you can lock the multiplier to the one you want.
Attached Thumbnails
Need help with multipliers ASAP-table_l1.gif  
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 03:09 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Thanks Mook, that is easier to read but I'd have to create my own cuts to get the right multiplier.

All is not lost. I'm gonna throw this in my server (seems to be running okay at 1.6ghz right now) and I just ordered an AGOIA 1600+ and an AX7 from here .

I only paid $118 shipped and it should be here Friday or Saturday .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 03:17 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Seems kind of expensive. I only paid $67 for the AGOIA with free 3 day shipping. As a matter of fact I just got it today.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 04:11 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Post a link. I have been looking at getting a faster Proc. Can't pass up a deal like that...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 04:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
Seems kind of expensive. I only paid $67 for the AGOIA with free 3 day shipping. As a matter of fact I just got it today.
I trust the seller 'cause they guarantee the stepping though Newegg was actually cheaper (but not a guaranteed stepping).

I don't think it's too much to pay for a decent XP chip... I'll squeeze every bit of life from her once I buy some more conductive ink (could use some suggestions there ).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 05:08 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky

I'll squeeze every bit of life from her once I buy some more conductive ink (could use some suggestions there ).
You know what I would say to use so I am not gona say it
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 01:08 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Lionfish


You know what I would say to use so I am not gona say it
Then I'll say it for ya! "OC it like you stole it!"
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 01:10 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
Post a link. I have been looking at getting a faster Proc. Can't pass up a deal like that...
Here's a link. It's apparently $66 today. The price keeps going up and down by a buck or two.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2002, 04:33 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky


Here's a link. It's apparently $66 today. The price keeps going up and down by a buck or two.
 

Awsome....thanks
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'll be back asap, promise aghastpumpkin AOA's Community Support 17 28th April, 2006 09:46 PM
MPEG 2 codec ASAP! JC Denton OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 9th November, 2005 11:06 AM
DVD-ROM not working! Need help ASAP!! brunobm CRASHED! 7 23rd July, 2005 02:29 PM
My computer is dead .. need help ASAP .MexiDan. AMD Motherboards & CPUs 30 12th July, 2002 11:03 PM
Help Me Asap Virus Infection What Do I Do To Nav Anyone? Aphex Random Nonsense! 3 12th January, 2002 02:52 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0