AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2002, 01:54 PM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

CD Drive Problems

I put a disc in either of my cd drives and the lights on the drives will light up go out and nothing else. Auto run does not work on any cd and I can not open them up from My Computer. The CD is not identified from the drive.
When I try a program that requires a cd, I get a "no cd found" or "need CD". But often ,not always, and after awhile it will work.
I can not install new software from a cd unless I remove the drive from device manager and reboot but this does not work all the time.
Music cd's will work only from music cd software including Windows Media Player. But I still cant open the cd form windows.
"Strange" to me anyway.
I am not a experienced XP user and any would be thankful for any suggestions.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by bigjohnson; 22nd August, 2002 at 02:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2002, 03:30 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

Hi "big"...

First thing I would do is go into Device Manager from Control Panel/System/Hardware/Device Manager and click on View/Show Hidden Devices and see if you have multiple CD devices listed, especially duplicates or cd's you don't have. If I find I have multiples, I remove ALL of them and reboot, letting winders install only the ones you do have.

Also, I found this FAQ on Abit KT7's :

The CD-ROM can't work after the IDE Bus Master Driver installed. Please update your IDE Bus Mater Driver to Rev. 1.01.

Hope either of these helps...
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2002, 08:43 PM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

I solved the problem. I had made a ghost image. I just restored form it. Still have some other issues but at least it is sort of stable.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2002, 09:16 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

Cool on the ghosting. I never had any luck with making entire backups.
What program do you use, btw? Did you burn to mulitple CD's or have an image on another partition or something?
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2002, 10:10 PM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

The Ghosting totaled an image span of 7 cd's for me anyway. I had a lotta stuff.
I used Ghost that was in Norton Utilities. They have a very good tutorial site. Although things didn't go as advertised. It shoulda made a bootable cd but did not. I had to use for instance a Win98 boot floppy and then use the ghost floppy and then I was able to use the image cd's. I may have made some mistakes creating the image cd's though.
Anyway through some juggling I restored my drives from the image.
The restore took about 40 minutes. Keep in mind the total time just to put on WinXP to include the format. Also the image did not need any drivers or favorite programs and all the reboots etc....
Heck, I love this restore from cd idea.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2002, 11:15 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

hoo-ahhhh. 7 cds is a lot of data... !

I tried Norton Ghost once (and another I can't remember the name of), made like a 3-cd set, and used CD-R's instead of CD-RW's, and when it came time to make the 'boot' part, it prompted me to put the first cd in... doh. Hard to add to a CD-R if it was closed out... so I basically had a nice matching coaster set.

I have 2K on my C: partition as a backup o/s, and i've spread my programs and data over the other 3 partitions on 2 drives. Nothing like complication to make life interesting.

Anyway, glad your's came out to a bootable problem solved.

What do you think caused the cd's to not be read anymore?
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2002, 02:02 AM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

The CD's were read and nicely too. The way I understood the instructions to Ghost was create a boot floppy with Ghost. Then during the restore cd creation process floppy data was supposed to be on the CD. That is no floppy would be needed to boot. As to why that did not work I have not a clue. So I used the Ghost floppy and the Win98 boot floppy and by interchanging them was able to access the restore CD's. So, probably with my limited understanding I may have made an error. The Win98 floppy gave me the drivers (I think) so that ghost would see the cd drive. Whatever it was it worked.
7 CD's is after all my stuff that I play with are on. Anyway the most often used stuff and with most of my settings. All the little stuff like folder options etc..... Maybe 2 or 3 cd's barely have anything useful on it if you think about it. Such as games and so on.
I'm gonna make another set with everything on it. As this set was sorta a learning process. Also I gotta figure how to make the cd's boot so they just go ahead and install.
This install does have some small problems. I will work on them and make the cd's and no more problems.
I don't know if everyone does this but they should.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2002, 02:45 AM
unclemojo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: mojoland
Posts: 572
Send a message via ICQ to unclemojo

I've had my CD ROM simply not work at times as well. Seems windows wanted to keep adding extra ones in there when I would download from my digicam. It creates a removable disk mass storage drive. Once I unplug it, the CD jumps a letter. Fixed that though. Installed Mandrake on a 10gig partition and haven't touched M$ in 4 days now : a personal best for me
__________________
~mojo~
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2002, 02:52 AM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

I tried Mandrake and others before. The best results was from a Corel distribution. I liked the looks of Linux. Played with it some and got rid of it off my drive.
I could not figure out how to install games and programs. Lots of other stuff I could not figure out either.
I sure would like to lean though. Great advantages to Linux I think such as stability and it is mostly free!
Wonderful will be the day when game companies start making lots of games for Linux.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2002, 03:07 AM
unclemojo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: mojoland
Posts: 572
Send a message via ICQ to unclemojo

It's not been easy so far, but I'm persistant. I feel better knowing I don't have a big thumb on me or a prying eye from the M$ crew. I'm a lost bumbling fool at the moment actually, but it's bound to be a fun ride
__________________
~mojo~
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2002, 04:46 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

7 cds is child's play
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My DVD +/- RW drive is having problems. benighted General Hardware Discussion 4 14th January, 2006 08:27 AM
Hard drive issues?/IDE problems?/I'm confused. Kontrollverlust EPoX MotherBoards 11 18th August, 2003 01:52 AM
Epox 8RDA3+ / Hard drive problems Jocka General Hardware Discussion 1 30th June, 2003 09:23 PM
Serious Hard Drive Problems! Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 12 15th December, 2002 08:35 PM
Drive removal problems Holst CRASHED! 6 16th December, 2001 05:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0