AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > Data Security

Data Security Viruses, Firewalls and Safe computing


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 12:06 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

Angry unwanted toolbar

not sure where to put this
The family computer seems to picked up some toolbar on internet explorer.
The obvious link on it that has: "Remove Toolbar" just take you to a website that says access denied >_< and it doesnt seem to appear on the add/remove programs :| ran the usual programs,

spybot came across an Altnet thing which it couldnt get rid of at all even after it asked to be run at startup...
picture below:
Attached Thumbnails
unwanted toolbar-toolbar.png  
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 12:27 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Use Firefox.

Other than that, you'll need to hack it out of the registry.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 09:18 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Try Tools\Manage Add-ons -> select the not wanted one (I hope you see it there) and disable it.
Also try Ad-Aware, SpywareGuard + Spyware Blaster from www.javacoolsoftware.com, they can help you.
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 11:42 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Could well be implemented as a BHO (Browser Helper Object). You could try BHODemon, but I've not had personal experience with it.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 02:49 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

i've never used spyware gaurd before or BHODemon, might give the demon a try.

I have put firefox on the family computer a few times, but the family doesnt like like it, they visit pages that need i.e to run properly so they got fed up with firefox, although i enjoyed pointing out that i use firefox and dont get their problems
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 04:09 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hey, Opera is now free!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 04:38 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

Update
BHODemon has worked its magic ^^
it detected it as malware avguw.dll or something, disabled it, will find out if the bleeder has come back after i come home form work..
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 05:34 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Good for you ! Cheers mate
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 08:23 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Well done. AltNet have a tendancy to become like a limpet; stuck in the registry!

Also, as pitch said, use firefox. But as i say, use Re-volt (X2 released on october 5th over at my website, my god, it's gonna be so awesome).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 10:28 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

In future to stop those 'helpful' toolbars:

internet properties -> advanced -> uncheck enable third party browser extensions

This will also remove google toolbar, MSN toobar, 180 Search assistant, and quite a few others. Also MS Antispyware will ask if you want to change that if its installed so you wont get automatic downloads and installs again.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2005, 11:05 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

unfortunatly the norton IS and the spybot S&D would be disabled as well, its not my computer, i let them deal with it most of the time
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2005, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Spybot now pops up this Ok box telling me various things such as MediaPlex have been blocked on EVERY single hotmail page I visit in IE, which I access via Msn. At elast 3 pop up for every page.
Know how to stop it?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 02:30 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
Spybot now pops up this Ok box telling me various things such as MediaPlex have been blocked on EVERY single hotmail page I visit in IE, which I access via Msn. At elast 3 pop up for every page.
Know how to stop it?
2 posts above

Quote:
In future to stop those 'helpful' toolbars:

internet properties -> advanced -> uncheck enable third party browser extensions

This will also remove google toolbar, MSN toobar, 180 Search assistant, and quite a few others. Also MS Antispyware will ask if you want to change that if its installed so you wont get automatic downloads and installs again.
also disable tea timer
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2005, 10:16 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

fdisk /mbr...fdisk...format...clean install can do no harm if data has been saved. A second partition for music movies and data never hurts...
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2005, 03:43 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

im sure I posted on this about hacking them out of the registry... could have sworn i did this. Maybe i didnt.....

onward!
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2005, 02:40 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
fdisk /mbr...fdisk...format...clean install can do no harm if data has been saved. A second partition for music movies and data never hurts...
only problem is, nowadays many people opt to buy the store computer cos of of the cheap price tag, and this often comes with no OS installation cd =| at best sometimes u will get restore disks, but its not the same
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2005, 04:40 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Piccolew, are you still having problems? Check out my pokpoka76 post (in this forum) for details on how to remove things like this. You'll need to study processes which you haven't noticed before and then follow the instructions on that page. I also recommend that you block complete access to the internet while you clean the infection.

Or if you want to, download toolbar cop, this allows you to remove anything to do with MSIE and toolbars, including hidden things like hooks.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2005, 04:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob
2 posts above



also disable tea timer
Thank you so much!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
toolbar problam. sasrob General Hardware Discussion 3 10th July, 2007 06:33 PM
eBay toolbar in Firefox Rondog OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 1st August, 2005 06:37 PM
Unwanted services. MONKEYMAN OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 2nd May, 2005 10:32 PM
Google toolbar is really nice el_ Random Nonsense! 1 29th October, 2001 08:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0