AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > Data Security

Data Security Viruses, Firewalls and Safe computing


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2016, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 76

Question AV software for single core system

Hi everybody! It's been a really long time. Everybody always had good advice here, so I think I've got another good question for you. I know it's obsolete and all that, but I have a single core VIA C7-D 1.8Ghz processor running XP with 2 GB of memory. Overall it works very well, seems stable, and I like to have it because of some design software that I purchased back in the day. Here's where the problem comes in.

The problem occurs whenever I install some type of antivirus software. The processor will often get bogged down and utilized to the point of 100% in task manager. I emailed someone at VIA and they stated the issue is due to it being single core, and the AV software gets prioritized.

I've tried Webroot Secure Anywhere, and it was horrible. It's supposedly able to run on Celeron and K6 according to the system requirements. I seriously can't imagine it on a K6-2. I've also tried F-Prot, and it's better, but still causes momentary hesitation and random cpu spikes even when everything is idle.

So I was wondering what software would you recommend? Are there any products out there today that work on modest single core systems? For what it's worth, I still use AMD Sempron and Turion processors (both single core) and do not notice any of these issues. Could this be a compatibility issue with VIA, and software companies aren't including them?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2016, 10:49 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I seem to recall that the Centaur CPUs tended to run slow under certain conditions.

Bear in mind that the Centaur is built around the idea of a relatively unsophisticated in-order execution core with really good branch-prediction and look-aside buffers, and a relatively small cache (L1 is 16K, L2 is 128K, there is no L3).

It seems likely that the AV software is swamping the cache and probably the memory bus, while also making a dog's breakfast out of the branch-prediction logic, and all of these things are contributing to your performance woes.

I'm not sure if they are compatible with your mobo, but the Nano and Eden series processors are pin-compatible with the C7, so IN THEORY you could swap for a higher-performing CPU. I know the Nano and Eden have both been shipped in Vista systems, so one would think they would handle the load a bit better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2016, 03:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 76

Unfortunately the C7-D that I have is soldered to the motherboard. It would be too difficult for me to even attempt changing it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2016, 07:49 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Ah, yes. I had forgotten that low-cost systems typically have pretty much everything soldered to the board. Sockets are expensive.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2016, 02:36 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,860

Ah, for the old days of comparatively giant components that could be handled with a by today's standards huge soldering iron tip. I never acquired the ability to solder surface mount caps and resistors, not to mention de-soldering a CPU. Sorry that you are stuck with that ancient processor. It's always something.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2016, 04:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 76

The C7-D is actually quite small. It's more like the size of a chipset; very small for a processor.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2016, 06:34 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,860

Does that mean you can de-solder it and replace it with a more modern processor? It'd be nice if it's possible.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2016, 03:30 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

It's a very small Ball Grid Array package, which can only be soldered using specialized equipment.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2016, 05:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 76

Yea with all those pins and contact points, I wouldn't want to attempt it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antivirus , cpu , processor , via technologies



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have a new Core 2 Duo system Samuknow Intel Motherboards & CPUs 5 24th April, 2007 09:37 AM
AMD single core CPU analysis MrSeanKon AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 30th October, 2006 10:57 AM
AM2 3800+ Single Core Overclock Adventures!!! thejamesvolta AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 19th September, 2006 07:51 PM
Single core to dual core upgrade problem. Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 19th September, 2006 12:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0