AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > Deprecated/Obsolete Clients

Deprecated/Obsolete Clients Information on old/obsolete folding clients


 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 14th September, 2004, 08:40 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Also, if you're using RM1's installer, don't forget to edit the client.cfg file with your name.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 14th September, 2004, 09:19 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mookydooky
DA,

Please, please get permission from your boss!!! There have been a number of people who have gotten into trouble for installing software without permission.
this is a really big "Please"

the consequences of this kind of stuff can be very "job threatening" ... if you know what i mean.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 14th September, 2004, 10:06 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

np. I'm one of three total people in our IT dept. I do all the running around if there's problems. Besides, I only do it on computers left on all the time and no one's at the desk. Might as well use those idle CPU cycles! Even if it's found, no way to trace it to me.
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 14th September, 2004, 11:50 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Well, their are only three of you...yes?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 12:13 AM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

Yep.
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 12:32 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

How hard will it be to figure out then? ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 01:03 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

still, go ahead and ask, its just not "cool" to do otherwise
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 01:56 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

Alright. Hope everyone's happy now. "The Boss" said I can't put it on any other computers and if anyone complains, it has to come off. Fair enough for me.

On another note, I tried adding the AOA FAH to my sig, but it just has [f@h]Diabloabogado[\f@h]. My F@H name is Diabloabogado as well. Did I do it wrong?
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 03:04 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Works fine, you got the / the wrong way round. And welcome aboard

AOA Folding @Home
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 03:29 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiabloAbogado
Alright. Hope everyone's happy now. "The Boss" said I can't put it on any other computers and if anyone complains, it has to come off. Fair enough for me.
Well, that kinda sucks, but at least now if anyone asks any questions you can always say "Hey, my boss knows. Go talk to him! (or her, as the case may be)"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 07:53 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

As long as everybody's happy, I'm happy. Still better than only one computer going! Thanks a lot Dod! Here I was feeling like and idiot and you confirmed I was right!
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 09:09 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiabloAbogado
Here I was feeling like and idiot and you confirmed I was right!
Nah, that's my job and I demand the right to keep it
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2004, 09:27 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Your timing is just off a bit DiabloAbogado; week or two ago we had a bit of a spontaneous completion to see who could screw up the F@H sig. the most times before getting it right, had lots of winners here! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2004, 11:40 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Question. Does this installer work on all Win. platforms? I've tried it on a Win98 PC and it (the PC/OS)would not allow the registry file to be imported so F@H would never start, or it would start and shut down immediately. Could that be AVG Antivirus blocking the installer adding to the registry ?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 12:24 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

ive only tested it on win xp.
with win 98, you're on your own.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #76 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 04:03 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

I don't know if win98 has services that you can add to startup when the computer does without logging on. If not, you can always put a link to the regular F@H program in the startup folder for All Users.
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #77 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2004, 04:56 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

updated, look at first post.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #78 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2004, 03:53 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I've put the new versions into AOAFiles as well. Thanks RM!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #79 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2004, 04:47 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

a fourth file is added that dosent recieve big packets. look at first post.

i thought that maybe somepeople with 512mb ram or below wont like FAH taking up 150mb of it.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #80 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 03:45 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

RM1, Does the "No big" installer just use Tinker cores? What makes it not use as much RAM? (not asking for the configuration necessarily, just what is the benefit besides less RAM used? In other words, will it benefit slower computers ie, sub 1 GHz, even if they have above 1 Gig RAM? I ask because many of my machines are slower computers and some of them take a week or two on some WUs.
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
 



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F@H Service Installer dabaerman ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 13th April, 2007 02:45 AM
Question about Service Installer.. Nate-X ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 26th May, 2006 08:54 PM
GUI Installer RussianMissile1 Programming and Assembly Language 0 14th August, 2004 11:52 PM
FAH 5 Oneclick Installer RussianMissile1 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 14th August, 2004 04:29 PM
FAH Installer RussianMissile1 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 17 13th August, 2004 05:22 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0